ECHL Releases List of Restricted Free Agents

PRINCETON, N.J. – The ECHL on Monday released the names of the veteran players, who, effective August 1, became restricted free agents. To become a restricted free agent, a player must be a veteran player (288 regular season professional hockey games played as of the start of the upcoming 2004-05 season) who received a valid qualifying offer by July 1.

When a restricted free agent receives an offer sheet from a team other than the team with the player’s rights and the restricted free agent wishes to accept the offer sheet, the restricted free agent and the offering member must, within 24 hours, notify the ECHL, the team with the player’s rights and the Professional Hockey Players’ Association. The member with the player’s rights shall have seven days after the date it is notified to exercise its right to match the offer sheet. Restricted free agents may not be traded. If a restricted free agent is not signed to either an offer sheet or a contract by an ECHL team by August 31, the player shall be deemed an unrestricted free agent.

Qualifying offers extended on July 1 to non-veteran players became null and void on August 1 and the team may sign the qualified player to any salary or may elect to take no further action. Teams that extended a valid qualifying offer to a non-veteran player shall retain the rights to that qualified player for one playing season.

The players below are restricted free agents:

Atlantic City
Luke Curtin

Chris Thompson

Jan Kopecky and Dan Vandermeer

South Carolina
Trevor Johnson

Kam White

Bobby Russell