ECHL releases revised schedule

The ECHL announced on Monday the revised playing schedule for the 2014-15 season.

Click here to view a month-by-month view of the new schedule.

The Rapid City Rush will be the first of the seven new teams to hit the ice, as they host the Colorado Eagles for a pair of games at the Rushmore Plaza Civic Center on Oct. 17 and 18.

Oct. 24 features three teams hosting their first ECHL game with the Brampton Beast entertaining Toledo, the Allen Americans hosting Tulsa and the Quad City Mallards welcoming Rapid City.

The Wichita Thunder open their season at home on Oct. 25 when they host Allen at Intrust Bank Arena while the Tulsa Oilers host their first ECHL game at BOK Center on Oct. 26 against Wichita.

After starting the season with a five-game road trip, the Missouri Mavericks will be the final team in the league to open at home when they host Rapid City on Nov. 8.

About the ECHL

Began in 1988-89 with five teams in four states, the ECHL has grown into a coast-to-coast league with 28 teams in 20 states and one Canadian province for its 27th season in 2014-15. There have been 543 players who have gone on to play in the National Hockey League after starting their careers in the ECHL, including two who have made his NHL debut in the 2014-15 season. The ECHL has affiliations with 28 of the 30 NHL teams in 2014-15, marking the 18th consecutive season that the league had affiliations with at least 20 teams in the NHL. Further information on the ECHL is available on its website at as well as on Facebook and Twitter.