ECHL represented at 2015 IIHF World Championships

The ECHL is represented by 29 former players and five coaches in the 2015 International Ice Hockey Federation World Championships, which begin today in Prague and Ostraa, Czech Republic.

It marks the 10th time in the last 13 years that at least 25 former ECHL players have participated in the tournament. There is at least one former ECHL player on 13 of the 16 teams, led by the United States, which has five players and one coach with ECHL ties on its roster. France has four former ECHL players while Switzerland has three.

Two players who played in the ECHL in 2014-15 are taking part with Quad City defenseman Benjamin Dieude-Fauvel representing France and Idaho goaltender Jack Campbell representing the United States.

In addition, current ECHL linesman Paul Carnathan is serving as a linesman during the tournament while former ECHL officials Tim Mayer, Bevan Mills and Fraser McIntyre will also work games during the tournament.

Austria (2) Florian Iberer (Alaska, 2006-07) and Brian Lebler (Elmira, 2010-11)

Belarus (2 players, 1 coach) – Assistant coach Craig Woodcroft (Columbus, 1994-95), Artem Demkov (Elmira, 2011-14) and Kevin Lalande (Las Vegas, 2007-09)

Canada (2 players, 1 coach) – Assistant coach Jay Woodcroft (Jackson, 1999-00), Martin Jones (Ontario, 2010-11) and Mike Smith (Lexington, 2002-03)

Denmark (2) Sebastian Dahm (Johnstown, 2008-09 and Alaska, 2009-10) and Morten Madsen (Texas, 2007-08)

France (4) Benjamin Dieude-Fauvel (Elmira, 2011-13 and Quad City, 2014-15), Antonin Manavian (Bakersfield, 2010-11), Laurent Meunier (Florida, 2002-03) and Antoine Roussel (Reading, 2009-10)

Germany (1 player, 2 coaches) – Assistant coach Jeff Tomlinson (Roanoke Valley, 1991-92 and Raleigh, 1991-93), assistant coach Geoff Ward (Arkansas, 1999-00) and Timo Pielmeier (Bakersfield, 2009-10 and Elmira, 2010-12)

Latvia (2) – Armands Berzins (Louisiana, 2003-04 and Wheeling, 2004-05) and Ervins Mustukovs (Toledo, 2006-07 and Elmira, 2007-08)

Norway (2) – Morten Ask (Toledo, 2003-04 and Las Vegas, 2003-05) and Ole-Kristian Tollefsen (Dayton, 2004-05)

Russia (1) Anton Khudobin (Texas, 2007-08 and Florida, 2008-09)

Slovenia (2) – Tomaz Razingar (Peoria, 1999-00) and Luka Vidmar (Las Vegas, 2011-12; Colorado, 2011-12 and South Carolina, 2012-14)

Sweden (1) Daniel Rahimi (Victoria, 2007-08)

Switzerland (3) – Timo Helbling (Toledo, 2002-03), Daniel Manzato (Charlotte, 2007-08 and Las Vegas, 2007-08) and Mark Streit (Tallahassee, 1999-00)

United States (5 players, 1 coach) – Assistant coach Dan Bylsma (Greensboro, 1992-94), Mark Arcobello (Stockton, 2010-11), Jack Campbell (Idaho, 2014-15), Matt Hendricks (Florida, 2004-05), Trevor Lewis (Utah, 2012-13) and Dan Sexton (Bakersfield, 2009-10)

About the ECHL

Began in 1988-89 with five teams in four states, the ECHL has grown into a coast-to-coast league with 28 teams in 20 states and one Canadian province for its 27th season in 2014-15. There have been 569 players who have gone on to play in the National Hockey League after starting their careers in the ECHL, including 28 who made their NHL debuts in the 2014-15 season. The ECHL has affiliations with 29 of the 30 NHL teams in 2014-15, marking the 18th consecutive season that the league had affiliations with at least 20 teams in the NHL. Further information on the ECHL is available on its website at as well as on Facebook and Twitter.