ECHL, Stockton Unveil All-Star Logo

STOCKTON, Calif. – The Stockton Thunder and the ECHL on Thursday unveiled the logo for the 2008 ECHL All-Star Game hosted by the Thunder and the City of Stockton at Stockton Arena on Jan. 23, 2008.

It will be the 16th edition of the annual midseason game that showcases the top prospects in the Premier ‘AA’ Hockey League. The 11th edition of the All-Star Skills Competition will be held on Jan. 22, 2008 at Stockton Arena.

The logo is a black thundercloud outlined in gold with ‘All Star’ in white with lightning bolts trimmed in gold extending from the ‘S’ and the ‘T’. ‘2008 ECHL’ in gold is above ‘All Star’ and ‘Stockton, Ca’ in gold is below ‘All Star’ with five gold stars as accents.

Joe Bosack, president and founder of The Joe Bosack Graphic Design Company, designed the logo. Bosack also designed the ECHL logo, the Kelly Cup Playoffs logo, the 15th Anniversary logo, the 20th Anniversary logo as well as the logos for the ECHL All-Star Games each of the past five years.

The Joe Bosack Design Company is a full-service design studio that specializes in branded identity. In addition to its work with the ECHL, Bosack has created identities, both directly and indirectly, for The National Basketball Association, The National Hockey League, The National Football League, Major League Baseball, Nike Team Sports, The Arena Football League, WNBA, Coca-Cola, Fila U.S.A., and Universal Studios in addition to dozens of individual teams and universities.


The league officially changed its name to ECHL on May 19, 2003.

ECHL began in 1988-89 with five teams in three states and has grown to be a coast-to-coast league that will have 25 teams playing in 17 states and British Columbia in 2007-08, including the Mississippi (Biloxi) Sea Wolves, who return after missing two seasons in the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina.

Opening Day for the 20th Anniversary Season will be Oct. 18 when the Johnstown Chiefs host the Wheeling Nailers at Cambria County War Memorial. The game is a rematch of Game 7 from the first-ever ECHL Finals played in front of a standing-room-only crowd at Cambria County War Memorial. The two teams will wear throwback jerseys for the Opening Day game that begins at 7:30 p.m. ET and will be broadcast worldwide on B2 Networks, the “Official Broadband Broadcast Provider” of the ECHL. The remaining teams will open their seasons the weekend of Oct. 19-21.

There have been 329 former ECHL players who have gone on to play in the NHL after playing in the ECHL, including a record 47 in 2005-06 and 26 in 2006-07. There have been 184 former ECHL players who have played their first game in the NHL in the past five seasons and 107 former ECHL players have skated in the NHL this season. More than 100 players under contract to NHL teams have played in the ECHL this season. The ECHL had affiliations with 26 of the 30 teams in the National Hockey League in 2006-07, marking the 10th consecutive season that the league has had affiliations with at least 20 teams in the NHL.

The ECHL is represented for the seventh consecutive year on the National Hockey League championship team in 2007 with Anaheim assistant coach Dave Farrish, players Francois Beauchemin and George Parros and broadcasters John Ahlers and Steve Carroll.

The ECHL has affiliations with 25 of the 27 teams in the American Hockey League in 2006-07 and for the past 17 years there has been an ECHL player on the Calder Cup champion.

In each of the last two seasons there have been more than 225 players who have played in both the ECHL and the AHL and there were over 800 call-ups involving more than 500 players.

In the last five seasons the ECHL has had more call-ups to the AHL than all other professional leagues combined with over 2,000 call-ups involving more than 1,000 players since 2002-03.

Further information on the ECHL is available from its website at