ECHL to hold Tournament to crown League-wide NHL 17 Champion

The ECHL announced on Thursday that, as part of the celebration for the inclusion of the League and its 27 Member Teams in the EA SPORTS™ NHL® 17 video game, an inaugural Tournament among winners from 12 participating markets will culminate with a Championship match-up that will take place as part of the 2017 CCM/ECHL All-Star Classic festivities in January 2017. 


During the Tournament game play, contestants will only be able to utilize ECHL Teams and ECHL rosters to authenticate the true ECHL experience in the game. For complete rules on the Tournament, please click here.


“It is an exciting way to highlight our League’s inclusion in the NHL 17 game,” said Ryan Crelin, Senior Vice President for the ECHL. “We wanted to be able to allow our fans to have some fun while showcasing the ECHL in the game. What better way to do just that than to allow our two finalists to enjoy the festivities of our All-Star Classic, and compete for the crown of this year’s inaugural tournament?”


The 12 participating ECHL Teams include the Adirondack Thunder, Brampton Beast, Colorado Eagles, Elmira Jackals, Greenville Swamp Rabbits, Indy Fuel, Orlando Solar Bears, Rapid City Rush, Reading Royals, Toledo Walleye, Tulsa Oilers and Wichita Thunder, each of whom elected to host an NHL 17 tournament within their own market. Each of the respective Team’s winners will compete in a League-wide bracket via online game play, narrowing the field to three finalists. These three individuals will compete in a round robin three-game set to determine the two finalists, who will both be sent on a VIP Trip to the 2017 CCM/ECHL All-Star Classic in Glens Falls, N.Y. The ECHL NHL 17 Finals will take place at the 2017 ECHL Fan Fest, with the winner being honored the following evening at the 2017 CCM/ECHL All-Star Classic.


About the ECHL


Began in 1988-89 with five teams in four states, the ECHL has grown into a coast-to-coast league with 27 teams in 21 states and one Canadian province for its 29th season in 2016-17. There have been 606 players who have started their career in the ECHL who have gone on to play in the National Hockey League, including seven who have made their NHL debuts during the 2016-17 season. The ECHL has affiliations with 26 of the 30 NHL teams in 2016-17, marking the 20th consecutive season that the league had affiliations with at least 20 teams in the NHL. Further information on the ECHL is available on its website at as well as on Facebook and Twitter.