ECHL Today – Nov. 6


Watch Games Live on America One Sports, the “Official Broadband and Mobile Broadcaster” of the ECHL


 Fort Wayne Komets (2-2-2) at Evansville IceMen (4-1-0)                          9:30 a.m. CT  

·     Fort Wayne’s Scott Fleming is fourth among rookies with five assists.

·     Evansville’s Mike Clemente is third with a .952 save percentage.

·     Komets are tied for the league lead with two shorthanded goals.

·     IceMen are 4-0-0 when outshooting their opponent.  


Wheeling Nailers (2-3-0) at Kalamazoo Wings (1-3-1)                                            10:30 a.m. ET  

·     Wheeling’s Carter Rowney is tied for eighth among rookies with five points (2g-3a).

·     Kalamazoo’s Yanni Gourde has seven points (2g-5a) in his last three games.

·     Nailers are tied for first on the penalty kill on the road at 100.0 percent (7-for-7).

·     K-Wings have scored six of their 12 goals in the third period.  


Elmira Jackals (2-3-0) at Florida Everblades (7-0-1)                                               7:30 p.m. ET  

·     Philip-Michael Devos leads Elmira with five points (1g-4a).

·     Florida’s Jesse Deckert is tied for second with five wins.

·     Jackals are league’s second-least penalized team with 10.80 penalty minutes per game.

·     Everblades are third on the penalty kill at 92.3 percent (36-for-39).  


Stockton Thunder (4-1-0) at Colorado Eagles (5-2-0)                                              7:05 p.m. MT  

·     Stockton’s Ryan Hayes is on a four-game goal streak since Oct. 23 (4g).

·     Colorado’s Marc Cheverie is fourth with a 1.33 goals-against average.

·     Thunder lead the league on the power play at 43.8 percent (7-for-16).

·     Eagles are third with 24.00 shots-against per game.  


Alaska Aces (7-1-0) at Idaho Steelheads (3-2-1)                                                     7:10 p.m. MT  

·     Alaska’s Laurent Brossoit has posted shutouts in back-to-back games.

·     Idaho’s William Rapuzzi is third among rookies with eight points (1g-7a).

·     Aces lead the league in shots per game (37.63) and shots-against per game (18.88).

·     Steelheads are second on the power play at home at 54.5 percent (6-for-11).  


San Francisco Bulls (2-4-1) at Ontario Reign (3-0-3)                                              7 p.m. PT  

·     Dale Mitchell leads San Francisco with three goals.

·     Ontario’s Dan DaSilva is tied for second with 12 points (2g-10a).

·     Bulls have scored five of their 11 goals in the third period.

·     Reign are fifth with 3.67 goals per game.


491 – John Marks (Charlotte, 1993-98; Greenville, 1998-2006; Pensacola, 2007-08; Augusta, 2008-09)
480 – John Brophy (Hampton Roads, 1989-2000; Wheeling 2001-03)
449 – Jeff Pyle (Mobile, 1998-2002; Gwinnett, 2003-11; Evansville, 2013-14)
399 – Jason Christie (Peoria, 2000-05; Utah, 2005-08; Ontario, 2011-Present)

342 – Matt Thomas (Atlantic City, 2004-05; Fresno, 2005-08; Stockton, 2008-13)


Watch Games Live on America One Sports, the “Official Broadband and Mobile Broadcaster” of the ECHL


Premier ‘AA’ Hockey League Fast Facts

• Watch games live on America One Sports, the “Official Broadband & Mobile Broadcaster” of the ECHL.

• The ECHL celebrated its 25th Anniversary in 2012-13 and is the third-longest tenured professional hockey league behind only the National Hockey League and the American Hockey League.

• ECHL began in 1988-89 with five teams in four states and has grown to be a coast-to-coast league with 22 teams in 15 states in 2013-14.

• The league officially changed its name from East Coast Hockey League to ECHL on May 19, 2003.

521 players have played in the NHL after playing in the ECHL including 22 in 2012-13.

• Nine ECHL players have made their NHL debuts in 2013-14: former Reading Royals forward Will Acton (Edmonton on Oct. 1), former Kalamazoo Wings left wing Darren Archibald (Vancouver on Oct. 25), former Colorado Eagles defensemen Ben Chiarot (Winnipeg on Nov. 2) former San Francisco Bulls left wing Jamie Devane (Toronto on Oct. 5), former Idaho Steelheads left wing Luke Gazdic (Edmonton on Oct. 1), former Toledo Walleye center Luke Glendening (Detroit on Oct. 12), former Cincinnati Cyclones goaltender Magnus Hellberg (Nashville on Oct. 26),former Greenville Road Warriors goaltender Cam Talbot (New York Rangers on Oct. 24) and former Ontario Reign goaltender Jeff Zatkoff (Pittsburgh on Oct. 11).

• The ECHL has had 329 players reach the NHL since 2002-03 when it changed its focus to become the primary developmental league for the NHL and the AHL. The ECHL had 97 players reach the NHL in its first 10 seasons and 215 in the first 15 years.

• 265 ECHL players have played their first game in the last nine seasons for an average of more than 29 per year.

• ECHL had a record 93 players on NHL opening-day rosters in 2013-14, surpassing the 87 from 2012-13 and marking the 11th year in a row that there have been over 50 former ECHL players on opening-day rosters.

• ECHL has affiliations with 27 of the 30 NHL teams in 2013-14, marking the 17th consecutive season that the league has affiliations with at least 20 teams in the NHL.

• 29 coaches with an ECHL background are working behind the benches of teams in the NHL including Anaheim Ducks head coach Bruce Boudreau, Pittsburgh Penguins head coach and 2011 Jack Adams Award winner Dan Bylsma, New York Islanders head coach Jack Capuano and Winnipeg Jets head coach Claude Noel. It is the ninth consecutive season that there have been 11 or more coaches with an ECHL background working in the NHL. Boudreau, who coached Mississippi for three seasons winning the Kelly Cup championship in 1999, was named NHL Coach of the Year in 2007-08 becoming the first former ECHL coach to receive the award.

• 27 former ECHL officials are scheduled to work as part of the NHL officiating team in 2013-14 with referees Darcy Burchell, Francis Charron, Tom Chmielewski, Ghislain Hebert, Jean Hebert, Marc Joannette, Trent Knorr, Mike Leggo, Dave Lewis, T.J. Luxmore, Wes McCauley, Jon McIsaac, Dean Morton, Dan O’Rourke, Brian Pochmara, Kevin Pollock, Kyle Rehman, Chris Rooney, Graham Skilliter, Justin St. Pierre and Ian Walsh, and linesmen Steve Barton, Matt MacPherson, Brian Mach, Tim Nowak, Bryan Pancich and Jay Sharrers.

• ECHL was represented for the 13th year in a row on the Stanley Cup champion in 2013 with Chicago Blackhaws assistant coach Jamie Kompon, players Sheldon Brookbank and Daniel Carcillo, vice president/assistant to the president Al MacIsaac, director of pro scouting Ryan Stewart and general manager of minor league affiliations Mark Bernard. The ECHL was represented by 53 former players and 18 coaches on the 16 teams competing in the National Hockey League’s Stanley Cup Playoffs, marking the eighth year in a row that there have been at least 30 former ECHL players and the 10th consecutive season that over 25 players with ECHL experience have competed in the NHL postseason.

• Former ECHL broadcasters working in the NHL include John Ahlers and Steve Carroll of the Anaheim Ducks, Dave Goucher of the Boston Bruins, Chris Kerber of the St. Louis Blues, Jack Michaels of the Edmonton Oilers, Dave Mishkin of the Tampa Bay Lightning and Bob McElligott of the Columbus Blue Jackets.

• Ryan Stanzel and Jeremy Zager, who were both recipients of the ECHL Media Relations Director of the Year award, are working in the communications department for the Minnesota Wild and the Los Angeles Kings, respectively.