ECHL Today – Oct. 22

Watch Games Live on B2 Networks, the “Official Broadband Broadcast Provider” of the ECHL

Elmira Jackals (2-0-0) at Johnstown Chiefs (1-1-0) 7:05 p.m. ET
• Johnstown was 4-3-2 against Elmira in 2007-08.
• Elmira has won the last two meetings to improve to 4-1-0 at Johnstown and 5-3-1 overall against the Chiefs.
• Chiefs’ Ian Keserich is 1-1-0 with a 2.50 goals-against average and a .904 save percentage in two games.
• Jackals’ Tyler Donati leads the ECHL with four assists and six points in two games.

Stockton Thunder (0-1-0) at Bakersfield Condors (0-1-0) 7:00 p.m. PT
• Bakersfield was 5-4-0 against Stockton in 2007-08 and is 15-9-1 overall against the Thunder.
• Stockton is tied for third in the ECHL on the power play with 33.3 percent (2-for-6).
Andrew Ianiero led the Condors against Stockton in 2007-08 with eight assists and 11 points.
Mike Lalonde and rookie Robbie Bina lead the Thunder with a goal apiece.

Idaho Steelheads (0-0-1) at Phoenix RoadRunners (2-1-0) 7:05 p.m. PT
• Idaho was 3-2-0 on the road against Phoenix in 2007-08 and is 19-8-1 overall against the RoadRunners.
• Phoenix is tied for the ECHL lead on the penalty kill at home with 100.0 percent (19-for-19).
Rejean Beauchemin is 0-0-1 with a 1.85 goals-against average in one game for the Steelheads.
• Rookie Matt Fornataro leads the RoadRunners with three goals and ranks second with four points in three games.

Watch Games Live on B2 Networks, the “Official Broadband Broadcast Provider” of the ECHL

Premier ‘AA’ Hockey League Fast Facts
• The ECHL celebrated its 20th Anniversary in 2007-08 and is the third-longest tenured professional hockey league behind only the National Hockey League and the American Hockey League.
• ECHL began in 1988-89 with five teams in four states and has grown to be a coast-to-coast league with 23 teams playing 828 games in 16 states and British Columbia in 2008-09.
• The Reading Royals, the City of Reading and the Sovereign Center will host the 17th Annual ECHL All-Star Game on Jan. 21, 2009 and the 12th Annual All-Star Skills Competition on Jan. 20, 2009.
• The league officially changed its name from East Coast Hockey League to ECHL on May 19, 2003.
• Affiliations with 26 of the 30 teams in the National Hockey League marking 12th consecutive season that the league has had affiliations with at least 20 teams in the NHL.
360 former ECHL players have played in NHL.
• 104 have played their first NHL game in the last four seasons.
• Five former ECHL players have made their NHL debut this season: former Wheeling Nailers and ECHL All-Star defenseman Paul Bissonnette (Pittsburgh on Oct. 4), former Charlotte Checkers defenseman Steve MacIntyre (Edmonton on Oct. 15), former Las Vegas Wranglers defenseman Adam Pardy (Calgary on Oct. 9), former Gwinnett Gladiators center Jared Ross (Philadelphia on Oct. 11) and former Dayton Bombers and Las Vegas Wranglers defenseman Tyler Sloan (Washington on Oct. 21).
• There were 72 former ECHL players on NHL opening-day rosters.
• Twenty-six former ECHL players made their NHL debut in 2007-08, including six who played in both the ECHL and the NHL as goaltender Chris Beckford-Tseu (Alaska and St. Louis), Adam Berti (Pensacola and Chicago), Joe Jensen (Wheeling and Carolina), Dan LaCosta (Elmira and Columbus), Jonathan Quick (Reading and Los Angeles) and Danny Taylor (Reading and Los Angeles).
• Record 51 former ECHL players played their first NHL game in 2005-06.
• ECHL has been represented on last eight Stanley Cup champions.
• Former ECHL coaches working as head coaches in the NHL are Bruce Boudreau of the Washington Capitals, Scott Gordon of the New York Islanders and Peter Laviolette of the Carolina Hurricanes. Boudreau, who coached Mississippi for three seasons winning the Kelly Cup championship in 1999, was named NHL Coach of the Year in 2007-08 becoming the first former ECHL coach to receive the award. Laviolette, who began his coaching career with the Wheeling Nailers, led Carolina Hurricanes to the Stanley Cup in 2006.
• There are 15 assistant coaches in the NHL who were players or coaches in the ECHL.
• There are 18 former ECHL officials scheduled to work as part of the NHL officiating team in 2008-09 with referees David Banfield, Chris Ciamaga, Ghislain Hebert, Marc Joannette, Mike Leggo, Wes McCauley, Dean Morton, Dan O’Rourke, Brian Pochmara, Kevin Pollock, Kyle Rehman, Chris Rooney, Justin St. Pierre and Ian Walsh and linesmen Steve Barton, Brian Mach, Tim Nowak and Jay Sharrers. Barton, Joannette, Leggo, McCauley, Nowak, Pollock, Rooney and Sharrers all worked the 2008 Stanley Cup Playoffs.
• ECHL has affiliations with 25 of the 29 teams in the American Hockey League and for the past 19 years there has been an ECHL player on the Calder Cup Champion.
• In the last six seasons the ECHL has had more call-ups to the AHL than all other professional leagues combined with over 2,000 call-ups involving more than 1,000 players since 2002-03.
• Further information on the ECHL is available from its website at