Elmira’s Barlow named Sher-Wood Hockey ECHL Player of the Week

PRINCETON, N.J. – Evan Barlow of the Elmira Jackals is the Sher-Wood Hockey ECHL Player of the Week for Oct. 14-16. It is the first time in his ECHL career that Barlow has won the weekly honor.

The 26-year-old scored three goals, added four assists and was a +3 as Elmira went 2-0-0 on the season’s opening weekend.

Barlow recorded a hat trick and added three assists in Elmira’s season-opening 7-3 win over Trenton on Friday. His six points in the game tied the team record for points in a game. On Saturday he added an assist in the Jackals 3-1 victory against the Titans.

A native of Strathmore, Alberta, Barlow leads the league in goals (3), assists (4) and points (7) after the opening weekend. He has 136 points (53g-83a) in 99 career regular-season games with Idaho and Elmira and has added 25 points (10g-14a) in 24 Kelly Cup Playoff games with the Steelheads in the previous two seasons. He was named Most Valuable Player of the 2010 ECHL All-Star Game after recording four points (2g-2a) and was also named to the 2009-10 ECHL All-Rookie Team after scoring 75 points (32g-43a) in 58 games. Barlow also saw action in eight American Hockey League games with Abbotsford in 2009-10 scoring four points (1g-3a).

Prior to turning pro, Barlow played four seasons at Cornell University where he scored 61 points (28g-33a) in 126 games.

On behalf of Evan Barlow, a case of pucks will be donated to an Elmira youth hockey organization by Sher-Wood Hockey, the exclusive puck supplier of the ECHL. Since beginning its sponsorship of the award in 2000-01, Sher-Wood Hockey has donated more than 25,000 pucks to youth hockey organizations in ECHL cities.

Runners Up: Jesse Gimblett, Bakersfield (2gp, 2g, 2a, 4 pts) and Blair Riley, Chicago (1gp, 2g, 2a, 4 pts).

Also Nominated: Chad Costello (Colorado), Andy Brandt (Gwinnett), Kael Mouillierat (Idaho), Brandon Svendsen (Kalamazoo), Rob Kwiet (Reading), Maxime Lacroix (South Carolina), Kyle Rogers (Toledo), John Armstrong (Utah) and Nick Plastino (Wheeling).