Simpson named CCM ECHL Goaltender of the Week

Kent Simpson of the Adirondack Thunder is the CCM ECHL Goaltender of the Week for Jan. 11-17. It is the second time in his career that he has received the weekly honor.

The 23-year-old posted shutouts in both of his appearances last week, helping the Thunder set an ECHL record with a 251:51 shutout streak and tying a league record with three consecutive shutouts.

Simpson stopped all 31 shots he faced in a 1-0 win against Norfolk on Tuesday and turned aside all 24 shots in a 1-0 victory at Elmira on Sunday.

Under contract to Stockton of the American Hockey League, Simpson is 5-1-0 in six appearances with the Thunder this season with two shutouts, a 1.84 goals-against average and a save percentage of .934. He has also appeared in seven games with Stockton.

A native of Edmonton, Simpson has appeared in 76 career ECHL games with Adirondack, Stockton, Colorado and Toledo posting an overall record of 33-34-3 with four shutouts, a 2.70 goals-against average and a save percentage of .909. Simpson has also appeared in 45 career American Hockey League games with Stockton, Bridgeport and Rockford and made his National Hockey League debut with the Chicago Blackhawks on Dec. 14, 2013.

Runner Up: Pat Nagle, Fort Wayne (4-0-0, 1.00 GAA, .963 save pct.).

Also Nominated: Troy Redmann (Alaska), Justin Peters (Florida), Jack Campbell (Idaho), Ty Rimmer (Norfolk), Ryan Massa (Orlando), Jeff Lerg (Toledo) and Ryan Faragher (Utah).


Oct. 16-18 Josh Robinson Missouri Mavericks
Oct. 19-25 Adam Morrison Greenville Swamp Rabbits
Oct. 26-Nov. 1 Joel Martin Kalamazoo Wings
Nov. 2-8 Ryan Faragher Utah Grizzlies
Nov. 9-15 Vitek Vanecek South Carolina Stingrays
Nov. 16-22 Steve Michalek Quad City Mallards
Nov. 23-29 Marek Langhamer Rapid City Rush
Nov. 30-Dec. 6 Ty Rimmer Norfolk Admirals
Dec. 7-13 Eric Levine Colorado Eagles
Dec. 14-20 Jeff Lerg Toledo Walleye
Dec. 21-27 Branden Komm South Carolina Stingrays
Dec. 28-Jan. 3 Pat Nagle Fort Wayne Komets
Jan. 4-10 Shane Owen Indy Fuel