Berschbach receives 2015-16 ECHL Sportsmanship Award

Shane Berschbach of the Toledo Walleye is the recipient of the Sportsmanship Award for 2015-16 as determined in a vote of ECHL coaches, broadcasters, media relations directors and media members.

The award is presented annually to the player who is judged to have exhibited the best sportsmanship combined with a high standard of playing ability.

Trent Daavettila of Colorado finished second, followed by Orlando’s Eric Faille and Chad Costello of Allen. Brampton’s Mike Vernace and Eric Baier of Orlando finished tied for fifth in the voting.

Berschbach, who was named to the All-ECHL First Team on Thursday, ranks fourth in the league with 43 assists and 67 points while accumulating just six penalty minutes in 60 games this season. He was named ECHL Player of the Month in January after tallying 20 points (8g-12a) in 12 games and he has earned a pair of ECHL Player of the Week awards this season.

The 24-year-old has recorded 132 points (40g-92), and only 16 penalty minutes, in 128 career ECHL games with Toledo and Kalamazoo.

ECHL Sportsmanship Award Winners
2015-16 Shane Berschbach, Toledo Walleye
2014-15 Chad Costello, Allen Americans
2013-14 Peter Sivak, Alaska Aces
2012-13 Randy Rowe, Toledo Walleye
2011-12 Kevin Ulanski, Colorado Eagles
2010-11 Brian Swanson, Alaska Aces
2009-10 Barret Ehgoetz, Cincinnati Cyclones
2008-09 Travis Morin, South Carolina Stingrays
2007-08 Jeff Campbell, Gwinnett Gladiators
2006-07 Derek Nesbitt, Idaho Steelheads
2005-06 Steve Saviano, Florida Everblades
2004-05 Kris Goodjohn, Gwinnett Gladiators
2003-04 Mark Pederson, San Diego Gulls
2002-03 Rejean Stringer, Columbia Inferno
2001-02 Ben Stafford, Trenton Titans
2000-01 Jamie Ling, Dayton Bombers
1999-00 Jamie Ling, Dayton Bombers
1998-99 Jamie Ling, Dayton Bombers
1997-98 Cal Ingraham, Tallahassee Tiger Sharks
1996-97 Mike Ross, South Carolina Stingrays