Maione named CCM Hockey ECHL Defenseman of the Year

The ECHL on Wednesday announced that Mathew Maione of the Wheeling Nailers is the CCM Hockey ECHL Defenseman of the Year for 2015-16 as determined in a vote of ECHL coaches, broadcasters, media relations directors and media members.

The ECHL Defenseman of the Year award is presented annually to the defensive player who demonstrates throughout the season the greatest all-around ability in the position.

Adrian Veideman of Colroado finished second, followed by Alaska’s William Wrenn, Adam Comrie of Reading and Colorado’s Collin Bowman.

The winner of the Goaltender of the Year award will be announced on Thursday.

Maione, who was named to the All-ECHL First Team last week, led all ECHL defensemen during the regular season with 43 assists, 54 points, 21 power-play assists, 24 power-play points and 227 shots on goal. The 25-year-old began the season with Brampton before being acquired in a trade on Dec. 2. Maine recorded 44 points (7g-37a) in 53 games with Wheeling.

ECHL Defenseman of the Year Award Winners

2015-16 Mathew Maione, Wheeling Nailers
2014-15 Mike Little, Florida Everblades
2013-14 Matt Register, Ontario Reign
2012-13 Sacha Guimond, Gwinnett Gladiators
2011-12 Aaron Schneekloth, Colorado Eagles
2010-11 Eric Regan, Elmira Jackals
2009-10 J.C. Sawyer, Toledo Walleye
2008-09 Dylan Yeo, Victoria Salmon Kings
2007-08 Peter Metcalf, Alaska Aces
2006-07 Jon Awe, Gwinnett Gladiators
2005-06 Ryan Gaucher, Alaska Aces
2004-05 Ray DiLauro, Wheeling Nailers
2003-04 Corey Neilson, Pensacola Ice Pilots
2002-03 Jim Baxter, Mississippi Sea Wolves
2001-02 Duncan Dalmao, Roanoke Express
2000-01 Tom Nemeth, Dayton Bombers
1999-00 Tom Nemeth, Dayton Bombers
1998-99 Chris Valicevic, Louisiana IceGators
1997-98 Chris Valicevic, Louisiana IceGators
1996-97 Chris Valicevic, Louisiana IceGators
1995-96 Chris Valicevic, Louisiana IceGators
1994-95 Brandon Smith, Dayton Bombers
1993-94 Tom Nemeth, Dayton Bombers
1992-93 Derek Booth, Toledo Storm
1991-92 Scott White, Greensboro Monarchs
1990-91 Brett MacDonald, Nashville Knights
1989-90 Bill Whitfield, Virginia Lancers
1988-89 Kelly Szauter, Erie Panthers