Kitts named CCM Hockey ECHL Equipment Manager of the Year

The ECHL announced on Tuesday that Drew Kitts of the Quad City Mallards is the 2015-16 recipient of the ECHL Equipment Manager of the Year Award, presented by CCM Hockey.

The winner is determined in a vote of the league’s equipment managers and athletic trainers. CCM Hockey recognizes the efforts and accomplishments of ECHL equipment managers and will award Kitts a CCM gift card in honor of his achievement.

Kitts has been the Mallards' equipment manager since 2009, and before that spent two seasons as assistant equipment manager for the American Hockey League’s Quad City Flames. The Knoxville, Tenn. native is a veteran of nearly two decades as either a head or assistant equipment manager in the professional ranks.

In his role with the Mallards, Kitts not only oversees all of the team’s equipment needs but also coordinates the team’s travel arrangements throughout the season.

Before arriving in the Quad Cities, Kitts acted as either head or assistant equipment manager for the Knoxville Cherokees of the ECHL, the Knoxville Icebears of the Southern Professional Hockey League, the Saginaw Gears and Knoxville Speed of the United Hockey League and the Huntsville ChannelCats of the Central Hockey League.

ECHL Equipment Manager of the Year

2015-16 Drew Kitts, Quad City Mallards
2014-15 Dakota King, Gwinnett Gladiators
2013-14 Billy Higgins, Wheeling Nailers
2012-13 Adam Dexter, Orlando Solar Bears
2011-12 Ryan Martin, Greenville Road Warriors
2010-11 Mike Burkhead, Alaska Aces
2009-10 Ben Laing, Stockton Thunder
2008-09 Pat Noecker, Reading Royals
2007-08 Pat Noecker, Reading Royals
2005-06 Chris Burke, Fresno Falcons
2004-05 John Jennings, Florida Everblades
Russ Holden, Reading Royals
2003-04 John Krouse, Pensacola Ice Pilots
2002-03 Tom Severance, Charlotte Checkers