Daniels named ECHL Broadcaster of the Year

The ECHL announced on Wednesday that Tommy Daniels of the Allen Americans is the 2015-16 recipient of the ECHL Broadcaster of the Year award as determined in voting by league media relations directors and broadcasters.

The other finalists were Ken Cail of the Manchester Monarchs, Tom Callahan of the Indy Fuel, Cameron Close of the Adirondack Thunder and Alan Fuehring of the Greenville Swamp Rabbits.

Daniels joined the Americans in their inaugural season of 2009-10, serving as the team’s first broadcaster in the Central Hockey League. In addition to being the play by play voice of the team, he is the Vice President of Broadcasting & Media Relations for the Americans.

He was the radio voice of the Texas Tornado of the North American Hockey League for two seasons, from 2006-08. He spent many years in Dallas radio as a talk show host and sports anchor at Sports Radio 1310 The Ticket, where he also was a part of the Dallas Stars postgame show. He was co-host of the TNT Morning Show at Fox Sports Radio 1190 in Dallas from 2002-2005, where he also hosted the Dallas Stars postgame show. Tommy was the MC of the Red Carpet Event during the NHL All Star Game in Dallas in 2007. He has also worked at KDGE The Edge, where he was Sports Director and Assistant Program Director. Daniels spent time as an on air personality at 106.1 KISS FM, MIX 102.9, and 93.3 FM in Dallas. Daniels was voted Best Broadcaster in the Central Hockey League for three consecutive seasons from 2011-14 in the CHL’s Best of the Best Awards. He served as the broadcaster for the CHL All-Star Game in 2012 and named CHL Media Executive of the Year in 2013-14.

ECHL Broadcaster Award Winners

2015-16 Tommy Daniels, Allen Americans
2014-15 Will Hoenike, Idaho Steelheads
2013-14 Bob Chase, Fort Wayne Komets
2012-13 Joseph Zakrzewski, South Carolina Stingrays
2011-12 Bob Mills, Chicago Express
2010-11 Josh Bogorad, Alaska Aces
2009-10 Doug Plagens, Idaho Steelheads
2008-09 Josh Heller, South Carolina Stingrays
2007-08 Joe Babik, Fresno Falcons
Brendan Burke, Wheeling Nailers
2006-07 Kevin Reiter, Florida Everblades
Joe O’Donnell, Idaho Steelheads
2005-06 Dan Weiss, Phoenix RoadRunners
2004-05 John Michael, Johnstown Chiefs
2003-04 Jack Michaels, Alaska Aces
2002-03 Darren Abbott, South Carolina Stingrays
2001-02 Joe Zydlo, Trenton Titans