Ropp named 2015-16 ECHL Executive of the Year

The ECHL announced on Tuesday that Cincinnati Cyclones’ General Manager Kristin Ropp has been selected by the ECHL Board of Governors as the 2015-16 recipient of the ECHL Executive of the Year award.

“Kristin is a repeat winner of this award, having also been named Executive of the Year in 2010,” said ECHL Commissioner Brian McKenna. “She is an enthusiastic promoter of her team, her arena and her city and is always willing to enhance innovative ideas to attract new fans and grow the Cyclones' brand.”

Ropp joins Steve Chapman, Joseph Napoli and Matthew Riley, as the only two-time winners of the Executive of the Year award since it was introduced in 1993.

“I was humbled just to be nominated, let alone receive this award by my peers, and I certainly accept it on behalf of my hard-working and dedicated staff who works year round for our Cyclones,” Ropp said. “Awards like this are not individual awards by any means and I know how blessed I am to work for a great organization led by Ray Harris, who has taught me so much.”

The Cyclones posted a full season equivalent sales growth of six percent during the 2015-16 season, representing the ninth consecutive year that the team has grown its FSE base. Cincinnati ranked fourth in the ECHL in group sales revenue during the season, marking a growth of 23 percent over the 2014-15 season. Ropp was instrumental in the creation and development of the Cyclones’ “Ninja Turtle Night,” which was the team’s first-ever sell-out with 16,529 fans, the second-largest crowd in league history.

ECHL Executive Of The Year Winners

2015-16 Kristin Ropp, Cincinnati Cyclones
2014-15 Joe Napoli, Toledo Walleye
2013-14 Matthew Riley, Bakersfield Condors
2012-13 Joe Napoli, Toledo Walleye
2011-12 Justin Kemp, Ontario Reign
2010-11 Dan Chapman, Stockton Thunder
2009-10 Kristin Ropp, Cincinnati Cyclones
2008-09 Gordon Kaye, Reading Royals
2007-08 Darren Abbott, South Carolina Stingrays
2006-07 Matthew Riley, Bakersfield Condors
2005-06 Steve Chapman, Gwinnett Gladiators
2004-05 Steve Chapman, Gwinnett Gladiators
2003-04 Terry Parks, Alaska Aces
2002-03 John Butler, Peoria Rivermen
2001-02 Matt Loughran, Atlantic City Boardwalk Bullies
2000-01 Craig Brush, Florida Everblades
1999-00 Brian McKenna, Trenton Titans
1998-99 Carl Scheer, Greenville Grrrowl
1997-98 Charles Felix, Pensacola Ice Pilots
1996-97 David Paitson, Columbus Chill
1995-96 Dave Berryman, Louisiana IceGators
1994-95 Harry Fuerstein/Craig Laughlin, Richmond Renegades
1993-94 John Gagnon/Pierre Paiement, Roanoke Express
1992-93 Larry Kish, Wheeling Thunderbirds