Annual ECHL Board of Governors Meeting concludes

The ECHL announced on Thursday that the League’s Board of Governors approved the following items at its recently competed Annual Meeting.

Transfer of Controlling Interest of Manchester Monarchs

The Board approved the Transfer of Controlling Interest of the Manchester Monarchs from Anschutz Manchester Hockey LLC to PPI Sports LLC, a group led by New England businessmen Marc Casper and Brian Cheek. Cheek will serve as the team’s CEO.

Harris re-elected as Chairman of the Board

Ray Harris, Governor of the Cincinnati Cyclones, was unanimously re-elected for a second season as the Chairman of the Board of Governors.

No timeout following an icing violation

The Board of Governors approved a change to Rule #81 – Icing. In addition to not being permitted to make player substitutions, the offending team on an icing violation also may not use its team time-out.

New divisional and conference alignment

As announced last month, the Board of Governors approved a new divisional and conference alignment for the 2016-17 season. Click here for more information on the alignment.

About the ECHL

Began in 1988-89 with five teams in four states, the ECHL has grown into a coast-to-coast league with 27 teams in 21 states and one Canadian province for its 29th season in 2015-16. There have been who have started their career in the ECHL have gone on to play in the National Hockey League, including 30 who made their NHL debuts in the 2015-16 season. The ECHL had affiliations with 25 of the 30 NHL teams in 2015-16, marking the 19th consecutive season that the league had affiliations with at least 20 teams in the NHL. Further information on the ECHL is available on its website at as well as on Facebook and Twitter.