Replacement players named for 2017 ECHL All-Star Classic

Captain and alternates also named for ECHL All-Stars

The ECHL on Tuesday announced that five players have been added to the roster for the ECHL All-Stars for the 2017 CCM / ECHL All-Star Classic presented by I LOVE NY.

View the 2017 ECHL All-Star Roster

The 2017 CCM / ECHL All-Star Classic presented by I LOVE NY will feature the host Adirondack Thunder taking on the ECHL All-Stars in a non-traditional format featuring 5-on-5, 4-on-4, and 3-on-3 play, as well as a Skills Competition (Puck Relay, Hardest Shot, Fastest Skater) to highlight the talents of both teams. The All-Star Team will be comprised of the League’s top talent and prospects, showcasing the future stars of hockey as they develop in the ECHL. The game will air LIVE exclusively on NHL Network on Wednesday, Jan. 18 at 8 p.m. ET.

Added to roster as forwards are Elmira’s Sam Povorozniouk, Kalamazoo’s Tanner Sorenson and Brampton’s David Vallorani while added as defensemen are Norfolk’s Aaron Harstad and Nolan Zajac.

Povorozniouk has tallied 19 points (12g-7a) in 30 games split between Missouri and Elmira this season and replaces Wichita’s Alexis Loiseau.

Sorenson, who has 20 points (10g-10a) in 38 games, replaces Tony Cameranesi of Orlando, who is recalled to Toronto of the American Hockey League.

Vallorani is tied for seventh in the ECHL with 44 points (18g-26a) and replaces Florida’s John McCarron, who is loaned to St. John’s of the American Hockey League.

Harstad, who replaces Wheeling’s Kevin Schulze who is injured, has nine points (1g-8a) in 24 games this season.

Zajac replaces his teammate, Jacob MacDonald, who is loaned to Albany of the American Hockey League. Zajac ranks first among rookie defensemen with 30 points (7g-23a).

The following changes have been made for the Great Meadow Federal Credit Union Skills Competition, which will take place between halves of the game. Zajac will particiapte in the Puck Relay competition, Eric Knodel of Cincinnati and Alaska’s Peter Sivak will take part in the Hardest Shot competition and Utah’s Erik Bradford and South Carolina’s Steven McParland will participate in the Fastest Skater Competition.

It was also announced that Fort Wayne’s Shawn Szydlowski will serve as captain for the ECHL All-Stars while Reading’s Justin Crandall and Idaho’s Travis Walsh will serve as alternates. Walsh has also been named to the starting line-up, replacing Toledo’s Jacob MacDonald.

The 10th class will be inducted into the ECHL Hall of Fame on Wednesday, Jan. 18, during a luncheon ceremony presented by BFL CANADA and Sutton Special Risk at the Fort William Henry Hotel in Lake George, N.Y., the official host hotel of the 2017 ECHL All-Star Classic.

Twelve coaches from the ECHL All-Star Game have gone on to coach in the National Hockey League while 64 players from the contest have gone on to play in the NHL, including 48 since 2002 when the lineups began having players who coaches felt were prospects to move up to a higher level.

The ECHL All-Star Fan Fest, with player appearances, interactive game, prizes, giveaways, auctions, memorabilia, and a special Hockey Hall of Fame exhibit, will be held on Tuesday, Jan. 17 starting at 6 p.m. at the Fort William Henry Resort in Lake George, N.Y. On Wednesday, Jan. 18, the day's events include the ECHL Hall of Fame Luncheon and the 2017 CCM / ECHL All-Star Classic presented by I LOVE NY. Select ECHL Skills competitions will be held the same night and will be incorporated into the evening's events.

About the ECHL

Began in 1988-89 with five teams in four states, the ECHL has grown into a coast-to-coast league with 27 teams in 21 states and one Canadian province for its 29th season in 2016-17. There have been who have started their career in the ECHL who have gone on to play in the National Hockey League, including 12 who have made their NHL debuts in the 2016-17 season. The ECHL has affiliations with 26 of the 30 NHL teams in 2016-17, marking the 20th consecutive season that the league had affiliations with at least 20 teams in the NHL. Further information on the ECHL is available on its website at as well as on Twitter and Facebook.