Format revealed for 2018 CCM/ECHL All-Star Classic

The ECHL, in conjunction with the Indy Fuel, announced Thursday a brand new game format for the 2018 CCM/ECHL All-Star Classic, taking place at Indiana Farmers Coliseum on Monday, Jan. 15, 2018.

For the first time in ECHL history, the All-Star Classic will feature four teams, representing each of the league’s divisions. In a format similar to those adapted by the NHL and AHL All-Star Games, the four teams will compete in a 3-on-3 tournament in order to crown a winner.

The two semifinal matches will be played within the Eastern and Western Conferences; with the North Division taking on the South Division and the Central Division facing the Mountain Division. The 2018 CCM/ECHL All-Star Skills Competition will take place after the second semifinal game, with the championship round following immediately at the conclusion of the Skills Competition.

"The All-Star Classic is our annual opportunity to showcase the best the ECHL has to offer,” said ECHL Commissioner Brian McKenna.“Over the years, we have experimented with various formats, and we are confident this year's 3-on-3 will be highly entertaining for the fans in Indy and our television audience."

Each game will consist of two seven-minute stop time periods, with the two teams switching sides at the halfway point. Each team will be made up of seven players; four forwards, two defensemen and one goaltender. Players will be announced in January via a vote of ECHL coaching staffs.

Additional details regarding the 2018 CCM/ECHL Skills Competition will be announced at a later date.

Individual tickets for the league’s annual showcase will be made available to the general public later in the fall. (Click here for more information about ticket prices) Group packages of 25 tickets or more are available now, and can be purchased by calling (317) 925-FUEL or by visiting

The CCM/ECHL All-Star Classic is coming to Indianapolis in 2018! The best players in AA hockey take the ice at Indiana Farmers Coliseum on January 15 as part of a celebration of professional hockey in the Circle City, which will include NHL legend Wayne Gretzky. Indy Fuel Ticket Plan Holders for the 2017-18 season can receive priority access to All-Star tickets, which will go on sale to the general public later in the fall. Visit for more information, and become an All-Star Insider to get event updates, ticket information and special offers delivered right to your inbox.

About the ECHL

Began in 1988-89 with five teams in four states, the ECHL has grown into a coast-to-coast league with 27 teams in 21 states and one Canadian province as it celebrates its 30th season in 2017-18. There have been  who have played in the NHL after playing in the ECHL, including 24 who made their debut in the 2016-17 season. The ECHL has affiliations with 27 of the 30 NHL teams in 2017-18, marking the 21st consecutive season that the league had affiliations with at least 20 teams in the NHL. Further information on the ECHL is available on its website at as well as on Twitter and Facebook.