ECHL approves Transfer of Controlling Interest in Adirondack Thunder

The ECHL announced on Tuesday that the League’s Board of Governors has unanimously approved the sale of the Adirondack Thunder by the Calgary Flames to Adirondack Hockey Coalition, LLC, a locally-owned entity.

“Owning the Adirondack Thunder allows us to control our own destiny, and focus on the long-term success of the hockey and the Glens Falls Civic Center,” said Daniel J. Burke, president of the Coalition. “Since the Adirondack Red Wings left in 1999, the community has not had a long-term commitment from a professional hockey organization. That changes today.”

“We are impressed with the passion and commitment of the Coalition and their focus on the long-term success of the arena and ECHL hockey in Glens Falls,” said ECHL Commissioner Brian McKenna.

About the ECHL

Began in 1988-89 with five teams in four states, the ECHL has grown into a coast-to-coast league with 27 teams in 21 states and one Canadian province for its 29th season in 2016-17. There have been who have started their career in the ECHL who have gone on to play in the National Hockey League, including 18 who have made their NHL debuts in the 2016-17 season. The ECHL has affiliations with 26 of the 30 NHL teams in 2016-17, marking the 20th consecutive season that the league had affiliations with at least 20 teams in the NHL. Further information on the ECHL is available on its website at as well as on Twitter and Facebook.