Elmira withdraws Membership from ECHL

PRINCETON, N.J. – The ECHL announced on Friday that the Elmira Jackals have withdrawn from Membership in the League, effective at the end of the 2016-17 Season. The ECHL regular season concludes on April 9, 2017.

The ECHL will play with 27 Members in the 2017-18 Season.

About the ECHL

Began in 1988-89 with five teams in four states, the ECHL has grown into a coast-to-coast league with 27 teams in 21 states and one Canadian province for its 29th season in 2016-17. There have been who have started their career in the ECHL who have gone on to play in the National Hockey League, including 19 who have made their NHL debuts in the 2016-17 season. The ECHL has affiliations with 26 of the 30 NHL teams in 2016-17, marking the 20th consecutive season that the league had affiliations with at least 20 teams in the NHL. Further information on the ECHL is available on its website at ECHL.com as well as on Twitter and Facebook.