Toledo wins 2016-17 Brabham Cup

The Toledo Walleye clinched the 2016-17 Brabham Cup championship on Saturday by virtue of their 10-0 win over Indy.

With the win, Toledo completes the regular season with a 51-17-4 for 106 points. It is the second time in the last three seasons that the Walleye have captured the Brabham Cup and the fourth time a Toledo ECHL team has captured the Brabham Cup as the Toledo Storm won regular-season championships in 1991-92 and 2002-03.

The Walleye’s Central Division championship this season marks the third straight season the club has captured a division title after winning North Division titles each of the previous two seasons.

The Brabham Cup is the trophy awarded annually to the ECHL team that finishes with the most points in the regular season. The recipient is guaranteed home-ice advantage throughout its participation in the Kelly Cup Playoffs.

The award is named in recognition of Henry Brabham, who founded the ECHL in 1988-89 with five teams in four states. Brabham, who was the first inductee into the ECHL Hall of Fame in 2008, owned three of the original five teams. The dedication of the Virginia businessman was crucial to the league surviving to span from coast-to-coast while advancing over 600 players and countless coaches, on-ice officials and front office personnel to the National Hockey League.

Brabham Cup Champions 2016-17     Toledo Walleye, 106 points 2015-16     Missouri Mavericks, 109 points 2014-15     Toledo Walleye, 107 points 2013-14     Alaska Aces, 97 points 2013-14     Alaska Aces, 106 points 2011-12     Alaska Aces, 97 points 2010-11     Alaska Aces, 97 points 2009-10     Idaho Steelheads, 103 points 2008-09     Florida Everblades, 103 points 2007-08     Cincinnati Cyclones, 115 points 2006-07     Las Vegas Wranglers, 106 points 2005-06     Alaska Aces, 113 points 2004-05     Pensacola Ice Pilots, 107 points 2003-04     San Diego Gulls, 108 points 2002-03     Toledo Storm, 104 points 2001-02     Louisiana Ice Gators, 116 points 2000-01     Trenton Titans, 104 points 1999-00     Florida Everblades, 108 points 1998-99     Pee Dee Pride, 106 points 1997-98     Louisiana Ice Gators, 96 points 1996-97     South Carolina Stingrays, 100 points 1995-96     Richmond Renegades, 105 points 1994-95     Wheeling Thunderbirds, 97 points 1993-94     Knoxville Cherokees, 94 points 1992-93     Wheeling Thunderbirds, 88 points 1991-92     Toledo Storm, 95 points 1990-91     Knoxville Cherokees, 97 points 1989-90     Winston-Salem Thunderbirds, 82 points 1998-89     Erie Panthers, 77 points