Officials named for 2017 Kelly Cup Finals

The following five referees and four linesmen have been selected to work the 2017 Kelly Cup Finals. The officials are selected based on the merit of their performance over the course of the regular season and their work thus far in the Kelly Cup Playoffs.

As was the case throughout the 2017 Kelly Cup Playoffs, all games during the Kelly Cup Finals will utilize the two-referee system.

Referees – Ken Anderson, Alex Garon, Stephen Reneau, Stephen Thomson and Jeremy Tufts

Linesmen – Michael Fusani, Charlie O’Connor, Dylan Peper and J.P. Waleski

It is the third Finals assignment for Reneau, who also worked the Kelly Cup Finals in 2015 and 2016 while O’Connor is working the Kelly Cup Finals for the second consecutive season. Each of the other officials is appearing in the Finals for the first time.

“This is a terrific honor for all of these officials to reach the Kelly Cup Finals,” said ECHL Vice President of Hockey Operations Joe Ernst. “Each of them has earned this assignment as a result of their performance throughout the playoffs. For the officials working their first Finals, it will be a great experience, and for the officials returning to the Finals, it is a very good honor to have worked multiple final series.”

It speaks to the development system we have with our officiating and the work our Development Coaches have done throughout the season and playoffs with having seven first time Kelly Cup Officials working this year,” Ernst said.

Kelly Cup Finals (Best of Seven)

Colorado Eagles vs. South Carolina Stingrays

Game 1 – South Carolina at Colorado – Friday, May 26 at 7:05 p.m. MTGame 2 – South Carolina at Colorado – Sunday, May 28 at 7:30 p.m. MTGame 3 – Colorado at South Carolina – Sunday, June 4 at 7:05 p.m. ETGame 4 – Colorado at South Carolina – Monday, June 5 at 7:05 p.m. ETGame 5 – Colorado at South Carolina – Wednesday, June 7 at 7:05 p.m. ET (If Necessary)Game 6 – South Carolina at Colorado – Friday, June 9 at 7:05 p.m. MT (If Necessary)Game 7 – South Carolina at Colorado – Saturday, June 10 at 7:05 p.m. MT (If Necessary)

About the ECHL

Began in 1988-89 with five teams in four states, the ECHL has grown into a coast-to-coast league with 27 teams in 21 states and one Canadian province for its 29th season in 2016-17. There have been who have started their career in the ECHL who have gone on to play in the National Hockey League, including 24 who made their NHL debuts in the 2016-17 season. The ECHL has affiliations with 26 of the 30 NHL teams in 2016-17, marking the 20th consecutive season that the league had affiliations with at least 20 teams in the NHL. Further information on the ECHL is available on its website at as well as on Twitter and Facebook.