Stingrays win Gingher Trophy as Eastern Conference champions

The South Carolina Stingrays claimed the E.A. "Bud" Gingher Memorial Trophy as Eastern Conference champions on Wednesday with a 4-3 win over the Manchester Monarchs in Game 7 of the Eastern Conference Finals.

Trailing 2-1 after one period, South Carolina took its first lead of the night on goals from Domenic Monardo and Olivier Archambault just 1:10 apart late in the second period. Manchester pulled even 3:17 into the third period on Ashton Rome's ninth goal of the playoffs but the Stingrays went back ahead at 8:56 on Archambault's second goal of the night.

Archambault led South Carolina in the series with five goals and shared the team lead in points with Rob Flick (4g-3a) with seven points each. 

The Stingrays advance to the Kelly Cup Finals for the second time in three seasons, where they will meet the Western Conference champion Colorado Eagles.

The Stingrays will be making their ECHL record fifth appearance in the Kelly Cup Finals (1997, 2001, 2009, 2015, 2017). South Carolina's three titles are tied with Alaska and Hampton Roads for the most championships in league history.

The E.A. “Bud” Gingher Memorial Trophy is named in recognition of E.A. “Bud” Gingher, who was Chairman of the ECHL Board of Governors from 1992-95. Gingher, who passed away in 2002, co-founded the Dayton Bombers in 1991 and owned the team for seven seasons, serving as President and Governor until selling the team in 1998. Gingher was inducted into the ECHL Hall of Fame in 2009.

Gingher Trophy Champions

2017      South Carolina Stingrays 2016      Wheeling Nailers2015      South Carolina Stingrays 2014      Cincinnati Cyclones 2013      Reading Royals 2012      Florida Everblades 2011      Kalamazoo Wings 2010      Cincinnati Cyclones 2009      South Carolina Stingrays 2008      Cincinnati Cyclones 2007      Dayton Bombers 2006      Gwinnett Gladiators 2005      Florida Everblades 2004      Florida Everblades 2003      Atlantic City Boardwalk Bullies 2002      Dayton Bombers 2001      Trenton Titans 2000      Peoria Rivermen 1999      Richmond Renegades1998      Hampton Roads Admirals