Woody receives ECHL Outstanding Media Award

The ECHL announced on Wednesday that Doyle Woody of the Alaska Dispatch News in Anchorage, Alaska has been selected as the 2016-17 recipient of the ECHL Outstanding Media Award.

The award is determined in a vote of league media members, media relations directors and broadcasters. Woody, who shared the award in 2007-08 and won again in 2009-10 and 2013-14, is the only multiple winner of the award since it began in 2002-03. 

“Well, the Alaska Aces are gone from the ECHL, which means I am too, so this award is a lovely parting gift from my colleagues on the circuit,” Woody said. “As always, I thank my wife, Sarah Henning, for her infinite patience and smarts, though it remains a mystery to me why she thought hitching her wagon to mine was an upgrade. Also, Alaska Dispatch News sports editor Beth Bragg is simply the world's greatest boss and the best journalist I've worked with in my 34 years in the business.

“The Alaska Aces - ownership, staff and players - always granted me nearly unlimited access,” he continued. “Coach Rob Murray was particularly generous, whether it was encouraging my idea to go behind the bench for a game, busting out a white-board or video clip to clarify a point, or just swapping stories in his office at the rink.”

Woody moved to Anchorage when he was 11 years old and returned to work for the Anchorage Daily News in 1983 after attending Gonzaga University. He was the beat writer for the Alaska Aces each of the last 11 seasons and has spent over 30 years, including each of the last several seasons, covering the University of Alaska-Anchorage hockey team, led by former ECHL coach Matt Thomas.

ECHL Outstanding Media Award Winners 2016-17      Doyle Woody, Alaska Dispatch News2015-16      Mark Monroe, The Toledo Blade2014-15      Blake Sebring, The News-Sentinel2013-14      Doyle Woody, Anchorage Daily News2012-13      Andrew Miller, The Post & Courier2011-12      Christine Troyke, Gwinnett Daily Post2010-11      Pam Shebest, Kalamazoo Gazette2009-10      Doyle Woody, Anchorage Daily News2008-09      Mike Griffith, Bakersfield Californian2007-08      Cleve Dheensaw, Victoria Times-Colonist                          Doyle Woody, Anchorage Daily News2006-07      Scott Linesburgh, Stockton Record2005-06      Matt Nevala, Anchorage Daily News2004-05      Mike Mastovich, The Tribune-Democrat2003-04      Len Bardsley, The Times of Trenton2002-03      Dave Eminian, Peoria Journal Star