Annual ECHL Board of Governors Meeting concludes

The ECHL held its Annual Board of Governors Meeting at the New York-New York Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas, Nevada on June 12 and 13. The following items were approved by the Board.

Conference and Divisional Alignment for 2017-18 Season

As approved by the Board of Governors, the Conference and Divisional alignment for the 2017-18 Season will be as follows:

Eastern Conference

North Division Adirondack Thunder, Brampton Beast, Manchester Monarchs, Reading Royals, Wheeling Nailers, Worcester Railers

South Division Atlanta Gladiators, Florida Everblades, Greenville Swamp Rabbits, Jacksonville IceMen, Norfolk Admirals, Orlando Solar Bears, South Carolina Stingrays

Western Conference

Central Division Cincinnati Cyclones, Fort Wayne Komets, Indy Fuel, Kalamazoo Wings, Kansas City Mavericks, Quad City Mallards, Toledo Walleye

Mountain Division Allen Americans, Colorado Eagles, Idaho Steelheads, Rapid City Rush, Tulsa Oilers, Utah Grizzlies, Wichita Thunder

The first two rounds of the Kelly Cup Playoffs will once again be played entirely within the division, with the division winner playing the fourth-place finisher and the second-place team meeting the third-place team in the Division Semifinals. The winners of each series will meet in the Division Finals, leading to the Conference Finals and Kelly Cup Finals.

Transfer of Alaska Aces Membership to Portland, Maine

As announced last week, the Board approved the Transfer of Controlling Interest of the Alaska Aces’ Membership to Comcast-Spectacor, and also approved the Transfer of Home Territory of the Membership to Portland, Maine.

Portland will begin play in the ECHL during the 2018-19 season, which begins in October 2018.

Thiessen named ECHL Executive of the Year

Kansas City Mavericks’ General Manager Brent Thissen received the ECHL Executive of the Year award, which is determined in voting by the Board of Governors.

The Mavericks averaged 5,068 fans per game during the 2016-17 season, accounting for 85 percent of building capacity. The team remains one of the top performing Member Clubs in ticket revenue and sponsorship revenue for the League in a very competitive market. Thiessen consistently energizes, excites and motivates his staff to excel at their jobs and leads the Mavericks’ organization to be among the leaders in the ECHL in most every measureable category and the club’s connection to the local community is second to none.

Harris re-elected as Chairman of the Board

Ray Harris, Governor of the Cincinnati Cyclones, was unanimously re-elected for a third season as the Chairman of the Board of Governors.

About the ECHL

Began in 1988-89 with five teams in four states, the ECHL has grown into a coast-to-coast league with 27 teams in 21 states and one Canadian province as it celebrates its 30th season in 2017-18. There have been who have played in the NHL after playing in the ECHL, including 24 who made their debut in the 2016-17 season. The ECHL had affiliations with 26 of the 30 NHL teams in 2016-17, marking the 20th consecutive season that the league had affiliations with at least 20 teams in the NHL. Further information on the ECHL is available on its website at as well as on Twitter and Facebook.