26 former ECHL players to participate in 2018 Winter Olympics

The ECHL will be represented by 26 former players in the 2018 Winter Olympic Games which begin this week in Pyeongchang, South Korea.

Nine of the 12 teams in the tournament feature at least one former ECHL player, with Canada and the United States leading the way with five players each.

Among the players participating in the Olympics are United States goaltender Ryan Zapolski, who was named ECHL Goaltender of the Year and Most Valuable Player during the 2012-13 season with the South Carolina Stingrays, and forward Mark Arcobello, who was the Most Valuable Player of the 2011 ECHL All-Star Classic in Bakersfield.

In addition to the 26 former ECHL players in the Olympics, there are five on-ice officials who have worked games in the League who have been selected to serve as officials during the tournament - Mark Lemelin, Oliver Gouin, Tim Mayer, Judd Ritter and Fraser McIntyre.

Former ECHL players in the 2018 Winter Olympics

CanadaChris Lee (Florida, 2004-07); Maxim Noreau (Texas, 2007-08); Justin Peters (Florida, 2006-08); Mat Robinson (Las Vegas, 2008-09 and Elmira, 2009-10) and Ben Scrivens (Reading, 2010-11)

Czech RepublicPatrik Bartosak (Manchester, 2015-16) and Adam Polasek (Kalamazoo, 2012-14)

FinlandTommi Kivisto (Florida, 2012-13) and Mikko Koskinen (Utah, 2009-10)

GermanyDaryl Boyle (Alaska, 2010-11); Marcel Noebels (Trenton, 2012-13) and Timo Pielmeier (Bakersfield, 2009-10 and Elmira, 2010-12)

KoreaMatt Dalton (Reading, 2009-11), Brock Radunske (Greenville, 2004-06 and Stockton, 2006-07), Eric Regan (Bakersfield, 2009-10 and Elmira, 2010-11) and Bryan Young (Stockton, 2006-07 and 2009-10)

SlovakiaMilos Bubela (Wheeling, 2016-17 and Orlando, 2016-17) and Michal Cajkovsky (Reading, 2013-14 and South Carolina, 2014-15)

SloveniaLuka Vidmar (Las Vegas, 2011-12; Colorado, 2011-12 and South Carolina, 2012-14)

SwedenMagnus Hellberg (Cincinnati, 2012-14) and Patrik Hersley (Reading, 2007-09)

United StatesMark Arcobello (Stockton, 2010-11); Ryan Gunderson (Columbia, 2006-07 and Trenton, 2007-09); David Leggio (Florida, 2008-09); Brandon Maxwell (Utah, 2014-15) and Ryan Zapolski (Florida, 2010-11; Kalamazoo, 2011-12; Toledo, 2011-12; Gwinnett, 2011-12 and South Carolina, 2012-13)

About the ECHL

Began in 1988-89 with five teams in four states, the ECHL has grown into a coast-to-coast league with 27 teams in 21 states and one Canadian province for its 30th season in 2017-18. There have been  who have gone on to play in the National Hockey League after starting their careers in the ECHL, including 16 who have made their NHL debuts in the 2017-18 season. The ECHL has affiliations with 26 of the 31 NHL teams in 2017-18, marking the 21st consecutive season that the league had affiliations with at least 20 teams in the NHL. Further information on the ECHL is available on its website at ECHL.com as well as on Twitter and Facebook.