Florida wins 2017-18 Brabham Cup title

The Florida Everblades clinched the 2017-18 Brabham Cup championship on Thursday by virtue of their 5-1 win at Jacksonville.

The Brabham Cup is the trophy awarded annually to the ECHL team that finishes with the most points in the regular season. The recipient is guaranteed home-ice advantage throughout its participation in the Kelly Cup Playoffs.  

With the win, Florida improved its record to 51-13-6 for 108 points and captures the ECHL regular-season title for the third time in team history after previously capturing Brabham Cup titles in 1999-2000 and 2008-09. The Everblades’ 51 wins this season are two off the club record of 53 set in 1999-2000.

The Everblades captured the South Division championship for the second year in a row and for the third time in the last four seasons. Florida, which has reached the Kelly Cup Playoffs 19 times in its 20 seasons, has won six division titles, and won the Kelly Cup in 2012.

The award is named in recognition of Henry Brabham, who founded the ECHL in 1988-89 with five teams in four states. Brabham, who was the first inductee into the ECHL Hall of Fame in 2008, owned three of the original five teams. The dedication of the Virginia businessman was crucial to the league surviving to span from coast-to-coast while advancing over 640 players and countless coaches, on-ice officials and front office personnel to the National Hockey League.  

Brabham Cup Champions

2017-18     Florida Everblades2016-17     Toledo Walleye, 106 points2015-16     Missouri Mavericks, 109 points2014-15     Toledo Walleye, 107 points2013-14     Alaska Aces, 97 points2013-14     Alaska Aces, 106 points2011-12     Alaska Aces, 97 points 2010-11     Alaska Aces, 97 points2009-10     Idaho Steelheads, 103 points2008-09     Florida Everblades, 103 points2007-08     Cincinnati Cyclones, 115 points2006-07     Las Vegas Wranglers, 106 points2005-06     Alaska Aces, 113 points2004-05     Pensacola Ice Pilots, 107 points2003-04     San Diego Gulls, 108 points2002-03     Toledo Storm, 104 points2001-02     Louisiana Ice Gators, 116 points2000-01     Trenton Titans, 104 points1999-00     Florida Everblades, 108 points1998-99     Pee Dee Pride, 106 points1997-98     Louisiana Ice Gators, 96 points1996-97     South Carolina Stingrays, 100 points1995-96     Richmond Renegades, 105 points1994-95     Wheeling Thunderbirds, 97 points1993-94     Knoxville Cherokees, 94 points1992-93     Wheeling Thunderbirds, 88 points1991-92     Toledo Storm, 95 points1990-91     Knoxville Cherokees, 97 points1989-90     Winston-Salem Thunderbirds, 82 points1998-89     Erie Panthers, 77 points