South Carolina’s Milner named Warrior Hockey/ECHL Goaltender of the Year

The ECHL on Thursday announced that Parker Milner of the South Carolina Stingrays is the recipient of the Warrior Hockey ECHL Goaltender of the Year award for 2017-18. 

The Warrior Hockey Goaltender of the Year award is presented annually to the goaltender selected to be the best at his position as determined in a vote of ECHL coaches, broadcasters, media relations directors and media members. 

Pat Nagle of Toledo finished second, followed by Florida’s Martin Ouellette, Joe Cannata of Colorado and Manchester’s Charles Williams

The winner of the CCM Most Valuable Player award will be announced on Friday. 

Milner, who was named to the All-ECHL First Team last week, went 28-7-3 with three shutouts in 38 appearances for the Stingrays, finishing tied for third in the ECHL in wins. He led the league with a 1.86 goals-against average, which ranks as the fourth best in a single season in league history, while finishing third with a .929 save percentage.

Under an American Hockey League contract with Hershey, Milner has appeared in 175 career ECHL games with South Carolina, Missouri, Quad City and Stockton posting an overall record of 104-56-11 with 11 shutouts, a 2.36 goals-against average and a save percentage of .916.

Warrior Hockey ECHL Goaltender of the Year Award Winners

2017-18      Parker Milner, South Carolina Stingrays2016-17      Riley Gill, Allen Americans2015-16      Josh Robinson, Missouri Mavericks2014-15      Jeff Jakaitis, South Carolina Stingrays2013-14     Jeff Jakaitis, South Carolina Stingrays2012-13      Ryan Zapolski, South Carolina Stingrays2011-12      Jeff Jakaitis, Gwinnett Gladiators2010-11      Gerald Coleman, Alaska Aces2009-10      Todd Ford, South Carolina Stingrays2008-09      Jean-Philippe Lamoureux, Alaska Aces2007-08      Anton Khudobin, Texas Wildcatters2006-07      Adam Berkhoel, Dayton Bombers2005-06      Matt Underhill, Alaska Aces2004-05      Chris Madden, Florida Everblades/Long Beach Ice Dogs2003-04      Scott Stirling, Atlantic City Boardwalk Bullies2002-03      Alfie Michaud, Peoria Rivermen2001-02      Frederic Cloutier, Louisiana IceGators2000-01      Scott Stirling, Trenton Titans1999-00      Jan Lasak, Hampton Roads Admirals1998-99      Maxime Gingras, Richmond Renegades1997-98      Nick Vitucci, Toledo Storm1996-97      Marc Delorme, Louisiana IceGators1995-96      Alain Morissette, Louisville RiverFrogs1994-95      Chris Gordon, Huntington Blizzard1993-94      Cory Cadden, Knoxville Cherokees