Skip to content
Powered By

O'Brien receives June M. Kelly Playoffs MVP Award

Zach O’Brien of the Newfoundland Growlers earned the June M. Kelly Playoffs Most Valuable Player Award. O’Brien led all players in the 2019 Kelly Cup Playoffs with 16 goals and 29 points. The 16 goals are tied for the second most in a single postseason in ECHL history, just one behind the league record of 17, which was set by Richmond’s Blaine Moore in 1995 and matched by Peoria’s J.F. Boutin in 2000.


The Playoffs Most Valuable Trophy was renamed earlier this year in honor of June M. Kelly, the wife of ECHL Commissioner Emeritus Patrick J. Kelly, whom the Kelly Cup is named after. Mrs. Kelly was an integral part of the ECHL behind the scenes during her husband’s tenure as Commissioner from the League’s inaugural season in 1988-89 through his retirement following the 1995-96 season.


June M. Kelly Playoff Most Valuable Player Award
2019    Zach O'Brien, Newfoundland Growlers
2018    Michael Joly, Colorado Eagles
2017    Matt Register, Colorado Eagles
2016    Chad Costello, Allen Americans
2015    Greger Hanson, Allen Americans
2014    Rob Madore, Cincinnati Cyclones
2013    Riley Gill, Reading Royals
2012    John Muse, Florida Everblades
2011    Scott Howes, Alaska Aces
2010    Robert Mayer and Jeremy Smith, Cincinnati Cyclones
2009    James Reimer, South Carolina Stingrays
2008    Cedrick Desjardins, Cincinnati Cyclones
2007    Steve Silverthorn, Idaho Steelheads
2006    Mike Scott, Alaska Aces
2005    Leon Hayward, Trenton Titans
2004    Dan Ellis, Idaho Steelheads
2003    Kevin Colley, Atlantic City Boardwalk Bullies
2002    Simon Gamache and Tyrone Garner, Greenville Grrrowl
2001    Dave Seitz, South Carolina Stingrays
2000    J.F. Boutin and Jason Christie, Peoria Rivermen
1999    Travis Scott, Mississippi Sea Wolves
1998    Sebastien Charpentier, Hampton Roads Admirals
1997    Jason Fitzsimmons, South Carolina Stingrays
1996    Nick Vitucci, Charlotte Checkers
1995    Blaine Moore, Richmond Renegades
1994    Dave Gagnon, Toledo Storm
1993    Rick Judson, Toledo Storm
1992    Mark Bernard, Hampton Roads Admirals
1991    Dave Flanagan and Dave Gagnon, Hampton Roads Admirals
1990    Wade Flaherty, Greensboro Monarchs
1989    Nick Vitucci, Carolina Thunderbirds