Skip to content

ECHL finalizes roster of teams for 2020-21 Season


The ECHL announced on Tuesday its final roster of Member Teams for the 2020-21 Season.

The Fort Wayne Komets will join the 13 teams who began play on December 11, and will play a 50-game schedule beginning on February 12.

The Toledo Walleye have elected a Voluntary Suspension for the 2020-21 Season under the ECHL’s policy for COVID-19. Toledo will return to play for the 2021-22 Season.

Under the terms of the ECHL/PHPA Collective Bargaining Agreement, all Players who have signed ECHL contracts with Toledo are free agents for the 2020-21 season immediately.

An updated ECHL schedule for games beginning on February 12 will be announced shortly, as well as the format for the 2021 Kelly Cup Playoffs.

About the ECHL

Began in 1988-89 with five teams in four states, the ECHL has grown into a coast-to-coast league with 26 teams in 19 states and two Canadian provinces for its 33rd season in 2020-21. There have been 678 players who have gone on to play in the National Hockey League after starting their careers in the ECHL, including 16 who made their NHL debuts in the 2019-20 season. The ECHL had affiliations with 25 of the 31 NHL teams in 2019-20, marking the 23rd consecutive season that the league had affiliations with at least 20 teams in the NHL. Further information on the ECHL is available on its website at as well as on Twitter and Facebook.