Skip to content

Johnson receives June M. Kelly Playoffs MVP Award

ECHL Commissioner Ryan Crelin presented the June M. Kelly Playoffs MVP Award to Cam Johnson of the Florida Everblades

Cam Johnson of the Florida Everblades earned the June M. Kelly Playoffs Most Valuable Player Award as the Most Valuable Player of the 2022 Kelly Cup Playoffs. Johnson went 15-3 in 18 appearances during the Kelly Cup Playoffs with a 1.90 goals-against average and a save percentage of .931. His four shutouts are tied for the second most in a single postseason in ECHL history.

Johnson is the first goaltender to receive the Playoffs MVP award since Cincinnati’s Rob Madore in 2014.

The Playoffs Most Valuable Player Trophy was renamed in 2019 in honor of June M. Kelly, the wife of ECHL Commissioner Emeritus Patrick J. Kelly, whom the Kelly Cup is named after. Mrs. Kelly was an integral part of the ECHL behind the scenes during her husband’s tenure as Commissioner from the League’s inaugural season in 1988-89 through his retirement following the 1995-96 season.

June M. Kelly Playoff Most Valuable Player Award
2022    Cam Johnson, Florida Everblades

2021    Stephen Harper, Fort Wayne Komets
2020    Playoffs canceled due to COVID
2019    Zach O'Brien, Newfoundland Growlers
2018    Michael Joly, Colorado Eagles
2017    Matt Register, Colorado Eagles
2016    Chad Costello, Allen Americans
2015    Greger Hanson, Allen Americans
2014    Rob Madore, Cincinnati Cyclones
2013    Riley Gill, Reading Royals
2012    John Muse, Florida Everblades
2011    Scott Howes, Alaska Aces
2010    Robert Mayer and Jeremy Smith, Cincinnati Cyclones
2009    James Reimer, South Carolina Stingrays
2008    Cedrick Desjardins, Cincinnati Cyclones
2007    Steve Silverthorn, Idaho Steelheads
2006    Mike Scott, Alaska Aces
2005    Leon Hayward, Trenton Titans
2004    Dan Ellis, Idaho Steelheads
2003    Kevin Colley, Atlantic City Boardwalk Bullies
2002    Simon Gamache and Tyrone Garner, Greenville Grrrowl
2001    Dave Seitz, South Carolina Stingrays
2000    J.F. Boutin and Jason Christie, Peoria Rivermen
1999    Travis Scott, Mississippi Sea Wolves
1998    Sebastien Charpentier, Hampton Roads Admirals
1997    Jason Fitzsimmons, South Carolina Stingrays
1996    Nick Vitucci, Charlotte Checkers
1995    Blaine Moore, Richmond Renegades
1994    Dave Gagnon, Toledo Storm
1993    Rick Judson, Toledo Storm
1992    Mark Bernard, Hampton Roads Admirals
1991    Dave Flanagan and Dave Gagnon, Hampton Roads Admirals
1990    Wade Flaherty, Greensboro Monarchs
1989    Nick Vitucci, Carolina Thunderbirds