Skip to content
Powered By

Allen's Dutton named ECHL Athletic Trainer of the Year


The ECHL announced on Wednesday that Jordan Dutton of the Allen Americans is the 2022-23 recipient of the ECHL Athletic Trainer of the Year Award, presented by Warrior Hockey.
The winner is determined in a vote of the league’s athletic trainers.
Dutton began working as a student athletic trainer for the Americans in 2009, and during his time in Allen, he has been a part of championship teams in 2014, 2015 and 2016. He received his bachelor’s degree in kinesiology in 2017 from the University of North Texas, where he worked with the football and men’s basketball teams. Dutton then moved on to Texas Tech University, receiving a master’s degree in athletic training. While at Texas Tech, he worked with the Red Raiders’ baseball team, which earned the Big 12 championship in 2019 and advanced to the College World Series. He returned to the Americans for the 2019-20 season, and recently concluded his fourth season as the team’s head athletic trainer.
ECHL Athletic Trainer of the Year
2022-23           Jordan Dutton, Allen Americans
2021-22           Tim Murray, Cincinnati Cyclones
2020-21           ECHL Athletic Trainers
2019-20           George Bullock, Indy Fuel
2018-19           Nick Potter, Kansas City Mavericks
2017-18           Matt Aiello, Greenville Swamp Rabbits
2016-17           Cole Libby, Utah Grizzlies
2015-16           Scott McLay, Alaska Aces
2014-15           Brad Fredrick, Toledo Walleye
2013-14           Steve Ruhmel, Florida Everblades
2012-13           Bob Case, Cincinnati Cyclones
2011-12           Mike Schroeder, Chicago Express
2010-11           Kevin Anderson, Stockton Thunder
2009-10           Bobby Walls, Ontario Reign
2008-09           Bryan Rodgers, Dayton Bombers
2007-08           Brian Grogesky, Reading Royals
About the ECHL
Formed in 1988-89 with five teams in four states, the ECHL has grown into a coast-to-coast league with 28 teams in 20 states and two Canadian provinces for its 35th season in 2022-23. There have been 740 players who have gone on to play in the National Hockey League after starting their careers in the ECHL, including 13 who have made their NHL debut in the 2022-23 season. The ECHL has affiliations with 28 of the 32 NHL teams in 2022-23, marking the 26th consecutive season that the league has affiliations with at least 20 teams in the NHL. Further information on the ECHL is available on its website at as well as on Twitter and Facebook.
About Warrior Hockey
Headquartered in Warren, Michigan, Warrior Sports is recognized as one of the sporting goods industry’s premier manufacturer of innovative, high performance, cutting-edge equipment, footwear and apparel for lacrosse and hockey athletes of all ages and abilities. Founded in 1992 by former champion lacrosse player David Morrow, Warrior was acquired by privately-held New Balance Athletic Shoe, Inc. in February 2004.