Toledo receives 2017-18 ECHL Award of Excellence

The ECHL announced that the Toledo Walleye have been selected as the 2017-18 recipient of the ECHL Team Award of Excellence. It marks the fourth consecutive season and the sixth time in the last nine seasons that the Walleye have received the award.

The award recognizes the ECHL organization that executes a well-rounded business plan including, but not limited to, sales, marketing, media relations and merchandising while also distinguishing themselves in their community, on and off the ice.

The other finalists were the Adirondack Thunder, Cincinnati Cyclones, Idaho Steelheads, Kalamazoo Wings and South Carolina Stingrays.

During the 2017-18 season, the Walleye set team records for most sellouts in a Season (28) and single-season attendance (273,613) while setting team and League record for Group Tickets sold (68,229) and in Ticket sales for the for the Team's School Celebration Games (12,286 tickets over 2 games). The Walleye also experienced tremendous success in the sale of Team merchandise. The team saw an increase in total Fanwear sales of 21% and a 33% increase in regular-season game day sales. Through auctions, raffles, grants, concession program and donated tickets, the Walleye were able to give back $375,674 to local charities.

On the ice, the Walleye captured the Central Division title, marking the fourth straight season that the club has won a division championship, while advancing to the second round of the Kelly Cup Playoffs for the third time in the last four seasons.

ECHL Award of Excellence Winners

2017-18           Toledo Walleye

2016-17           Toledo Walleye

2015-16           Toledo Walleye

2014-15           Toledo Walleye

2013-14           Ontario Reign

2012-13           Orlando Solar Bears

2011-12           Toledo Walleye

2010-11           Bakersfield Condors

2009-10           Toledo Walleye

2008-09           Stockton Thunder

2007-08           Gwinnett Gladiators

2006-07           Stockton Thunder

2005-06           Alaska Aces

2004-05           Pensacola Ice Pilots

2003-04           Florida Everblades and Johnstown Chiefs