Everblades Win Brabham Cup

The Florida Everblades finished first in the regular season with 103 points (49-17-5) to win their second Brabham Cup trophy.

The Brabham Cup is the trophy awarded annually to the ECHL team that finishes with the most points in the regular season. The recipient is guaranteed home-ice advantage throughout its participation in the Kelly Cup Playoffs.

The award is named in recognition of Henry Brabham, who founded the ECHL in 1988-89 with five teams in four states. Brabham, who was the first inductee into the ECHL Hall of Fame in 2008, owned three of the original five teams, including the legendary Johnstown Chiefs who are celebrating their 20th season in 2007-08. The dedication of the Virginia businessman was crucial to the league surviving to span from coast-to-coast while advancing 353 players and countless coaches, on-ice officials and front office personnel to the National Hockey League.

The Everblades are the fifth team to win the Brabham Cup twice joining Knoxville (1990-91 and 1993-94), Louisiana (1997-98 and 2001-02), Toledo (1991-92 and 2002-03), and Wheeling (1992-93 and 1994-95). The Everblades won the Brabham Cup in 1999-2000 and set ECHL records with 53 wins and 108 points. The 53 wins are now tied for the third most in league history while the 108 points are tied for sixth. Twenty-six teams have finished with 100 points in a season.

Brabham Cup Trophy Winners

2008-09 Florida Everblades (103 points)
2007-08 Cincinnati Cyclones (115 points)
2006-07 Las Vegas Wranglers (106 points)
2005-06 Alaska Aces (113 points)
2004-05 Pensacola Ice Pilots (107 points)
2003-04 San Diego Gulls (108 points)
2002-03 Toledo Storm (104 points)
2001-02 Louisiana IceGators (116 points)
2000-01 Trenton Titans (104 points)
1999-00 Florida Everblades (108 points)
1998-99 Pee Dee Pride (106 points)
1997-98 Louisiana IceGators (96 points)
1996-97 South Carolina Stingrays (100 points)
1995-96 Richmond Renegades (105 points)
1994-95 Wheeling Thunderbirds (97 points)
1993-94 Knoxville Cherokees (94 points)
1992-93 Wheeling Thunderbirds (88 points)
1991-92 Toledo Storm (95 points)
1990-91 Knoxville Cherokees (97 points)
1989-90 Winston-Salem Thunderbirds (82 points)
1988-89 Erie Panthers (77 points)