Express’ Jaffray Named CCM November Rookie Of The Month

PRINCETON, N.J. – Roanoke Express left wing Jason Jaffray is the CCM East Coast Hockey League Rookie of the Month for November. Jaffray was runner up for the award in October after scoring nine points (4g-5a) in seven games.

The 21-year-old Jaffray scored 11 goals, including five power-play goals, and had 13 assists in 14 games for the Express in November. He leads ECHL rookies with 18 assists and 33 points and is tied for the rookie lead with 15 goals and six power-play goals in 21 games.

He entered December on a nine-game scoring streak in which he scored 14 points (7g-7a). The nine-game streak, however, isn’t the longest of the season for Jaffray. After not scoring in his first professional game, he proceeded to score in the next 10 games, during which he had eight goals and 19 points. He has been held scoreless in only two of his first 21 games as a professional, and his 33 points rank him third overall in the ECHL in scoring while his 15 goals tie him for second overall and his six power-play goals tie him for fourth overall.

In a 6-0 win against Augusta on November 2, the 6-1 and 204-pound Jaffray scored two power-play goals and had three assists, tying the ECHL season high for points in a game. He scored his first professional hat trick and had four points in a 6-3 win at Reading on November 26. Jaffray was runner up for ECHL Player of the Week for November 25-December 1 after scoring eight points (5g-3a) in four games. He had two multiple-goal games and five multiple-point games in November, giving him seven multiple-point games overall.

Runners Up: Mike Bishai, Columbus (12 gp, 5g, 13a, 18 pts) and Zenon Konopka, Wheeling (14 gp, 4g, 12a, 16 pts)

Also Nominated: Kevin Korol (Atlantic City), Jade Galbraith (Arkansas), Jeff Szwez (Augusta), Jeff Blair (Baton Rouge), Dusty Jamieson (Charlotte), Steve Gallace (Cincinnati), Andrew Ianiero (Dayton), Marty Johnston (Florida), Reagan Rome (Jackson), Peter Aubry (Johnstown), Mike Smith (Lexington), Kyle Kettles (Louisiana), Mike Scott (Mississippi), Mike Glumac (Pee Dee), Scott Hewson (Pensacola), Alex Kim (Reading), Jamie Herrington (Richmond), Robin Gomez (South Carolina), Nick Parillo (Toledo), and David Schneider (Trenton).