Fitzhugh receives 2016-17 ECHL Award of Excellence for Media Relations

The ECHL announced on Tuesday that Everett Fitzhugh of the Cincinnati Cyclones is the 2016-17 recipient of the Award of Excellence for Media Relations as determined in voting by members of the media, league media relations directors and broadcasters.


The other finalists were Zach Dooley of the Adirondack Thunder, Brian Lavelle of the Quad City Mallards, Adrian Denny of the Utah Grizzlies and Jason Mals of the Wichita Thunder.


The 2016-17 season was Fitzhugh’s second season with the Cyclones as the team’s Director of Public Relations and Broadcasting. The Michigan native got his start calling over 120 hockey games for the Bowling Green State University Falcons. His time with the Falcons saw him start as the color analyst before growing into the play-by-play role.


Upon graduation from BGSU, Fitzhugh moved on to accept the Manager of Communications & Director of Social Media position with the United States Hockey League in Chicago. There he excelled in providing league communications and content while heading the league’s efforts with several notable events such as the USHL Draft and Top Prospects Game. From there he moved on to the USHL’s Youngstown Phantoms where responsibilities included game day broadcasts, media relations, social and web content, video features, and community outreach.  


ECHL Award of Excellence for Media Relations Winners
2016-17      Everett Fitzhugh, Cincinnati Cyclones
2015-16      DJ Abisalih, Wheeling Nailers
2014-15      Chuck Bailey, Fort Wayne Komets
2013-14      Nick Brunker, Cincinnati Cyclones
2012-13      Kevin Bartl and Ryan Holt, Bakersfield Condors
2011-12      J.P. Puma, Colorado Eagles
2010-11      Will Hoenike, Idaho Steelheads
2009-10      Eric Levine, Elmira Jackals
2008-09      Mike Benton, Stockton Thunder
2007-08      John Hamel, Cincinnati Cyclones and Jeff Harris and Mike Walker, Victoria Salmon Kings
2006-07      Dustin Bixby, Gwinnett Gladiators and Josh Fisher, Las Vegas Wranglers
2005-06      Jeremy Zager, San Diego Gulls
2004-05      Jeremy Zager, San Diego Gulls
2003-04      Mike Kelly, Mississippi Sea Wolves
2002-03      Ryan Stanzel, Louisiana IceGators
2001-02      Bill McLaughlin, Greenville Grrrowl
2000-01      Darren Abbott, South Carolina Stingrays
1999-00      Darren Abbott, South Carolina Stingrays
1998-99      Mark Simpson, Charlotte Checkers
1997-98      Andy Davis, Richmond Renegades
1996-97      Peter Kostos, Louisiana IceGators