Five former ECHL players to participate in AHL All-Star Classic

The ECHL will be represented by five players at the 2014 American Hockey League All-Star Classic, to take place Tuesday and Wednesday in St John’s, Newfoundland. This year’s game features the AHL All-Stars taking on Farjestad BK of the Swedish Elite League.

Four of the five players on the on the AHL All-Star Team are forwards, including former Elmira Jackals center Mike Hoffman; former Roanoke Express and Wheeling Nailers left wing Jason Jaffray, who participated in the 2003 and 2004 ECHL All-Star Games and was named the ECHL Rookie of the Year in 2002-03; former South Carolina Stingrays center Travis Morin, who participated in the 2008 and 2009 ECHL All-Star Games, won a Kelly Cup title in 2009 and was named the recipient of the ECHL Sportsmanship Award in 2008-09; Wheeling Nailers center Ben Street, who participated in the 2011 ECHL All-Star Game in Bakersfield and was the 2010-11 ECHL Rookie of the Year.

The other ECHL alum on the AHL All-Star squad is former Cincinnati Cyclones defenseman Frederic St. Denis.

The ECHL has affiliations with 26 of the 30 teams in the American Hockey League in 2013-14 and for the past 24 years there has been an ECHL player on the Calder Cup champion.

There are 31 coaches with an ECHL background working behind the benches of teams in the American Hockey League in 2013-14, including 10 of the league’s 30 head coaches.

Former ECHL broadcasters working in the AHL include Brendan Burke of the Utica Comets, Dan D’Uva of the Syracuse Crunch, Josh Heller of the Albany Devils, Mike Kelly of the Springfield Falcons, Eric Lindquist of the Worcester Sharks, Pete Michaud of the Norfolk Admirals, Mike O’Brien of the Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins; Joe O’Donnell of the Iowa Wild, Doug Plagens of the Lake Erie Monsters, Bob Rotruck of the Adirondack Phantoms, Jason Shaver of the Chicago Wolves, Jason Shaya of the Charlotte Checkers, Dan Weiss of the San Antonio Rampage and Grady Whittenburg of the Binghamton Senators.