Florida, Johnstown Receive
ECHL Award of Distinction

ATLANTA – The ECHL announced on Wednesday that the Florida Everblades and the Johnstown Chiefs are the inaugural recipients of the ECHL Award of Distinction.

Florida and Johnstown were presented with the awards at the ECHL Marketing and Communications Meetings held Monday through Wednesday. The meetings were attended by approximately 150 representatives from ECHL teams.

The Award of Distinction will be presented annually by the ECHL to organizations that are first-rate, cooperative with the league office, compliant with league programs, and who distinguish themselves on and off the ice in their community.

One of the founding members, Johnstown played its 16th season in 2003-04 and has signed a lease for two more seasons. The Chiefs ranked third in the regular season with six sellouts, including the largest crowd in team history, and despite having a wall collapse at their home arena, the Cambria County War Memorial, increased their average regular season attendance by more than 13 percent.

Florida led the regular season in total and average attendance, the fourth consecutive year that the Everblades have led the league in both total and average attendance. Florida led the postseason in total and average attendance, and the Everblades have now led the ECHL in average postseason attendance in every one of their six seasons in the league while posting six of the Top 10 postseason crowds since 2000. Florida ranked second in the regular season with eight sellouts and second in the postseason with four sellouts. The Everblades drew the four largest crowds in the postseason and averaged over 100 percent of capacity for the Conference Finals and the Kelly Cup Finals.

ECHL Award of Distinction Winners

Florida Everblades
Johnstown Chiefs