Florida wins 2017-18 Brabham Cup title

The Florida Everblades clinched the 2017-18 Brabham Cup championship on Thursday by virtue of their 5-1 win at Jacksonville.


The Brabham Cup is the trophy awarded annually to the ECHL team that finishes with the most points in the regular season. The recipient is guaranteed home-ice advantage throughout its participation in the Kelly Cup Playoffs.  


With the win, Florida improved its record to 51-13-6 for 108 points and captures the ECHL regular-season title for the third time in team history after previously capturing Brabham Cup titles in 1999-2000 and 2008-09. The Everblades’ 51 wins this season are two off the club record of 53 set in 1999-2000.


The Everblades captured the South Division championship for the second year in a row and for the third time in the last four seasons. Florida, which has reached the Kelly Cup Playoffs 19 times in its 20 seasons, has won six division titles, and won the Kelly Cup in 2012.


The award is named in recognition of Henry Brabham, who founded the ECHL in 1988-89 with five teams in four states. Brabham, who was the first inductee into the ECHL Hall of Fame in 2008, owned three of the original five teams. The dedication of the Virginia businessman was crucial to the league surviving to span from coast-to-coast while advancing over 640 players and countless coaches, on-ice officials and front office personnel to the National Hockey League.  


Brabham Cup Champions

2017-18     Florida Everblades
2016-17     Toledo Walleye, 106 points
2015-16     Missouri Mavericks, 109 points
2014-15     Toledo Walleye, 107 points
2013-14     Alaska Aces, 97 points
2013-14     Alaska Aces, 106 points
2011-12     Alaska Aces, 97 points
2010-11     Alaska Aces, 97 points
2009-10     Idaho Steelheads, 103 points
2008-09     Florida Everblades, 103 points
2007-08     Cincinnati Cyclones, 115 points
2006-07     Las Vegas Wranglers, 106 points
2005-06     Alaska Aces, 113 points
2004-05     Pensacola Ice Pilots, 107 points
2003-04     San Diego Gulls, 108 points
2002-03     Toledo Storm, 104 points
2001-02     Louisiana Ice Gators, 116 points
2000-01     Trenton Titans, 104 points
1999-00     Florida Everblades, 108 points
1998-99     Pee Dee Pride, 106 points
1997-98     Louisiana Ice Gators, 96 points
1996-97     South Carolina Stingrays, 100 points
1995-96     Richmond Renegades, 105 points
1994-95     Wheeling Thunderbirds, 97 points
1993-94     Knoxville Cherokees, 94 points
1992-93     Wheeling Thunderbirds, 88 points
1991-92     Toledo Storm, 95 points
1990-91     Knoxville Cherokees, 97 points
1989-90     Winston-Salem Thunderbirds, 82 points
1998-89     Erie Panthers, 77 points