Fort Wayne’s Marino wins ECHL scoring title


The ECHL on Monday announced that Brandon Marino of the Fort Wayne Komets has won the league scoring championship with 88 points (30g-58a).


Alaska’s Peter Sivak was second with 83 points (31g-52a) followed by Mickey Lang of Orlando with 76 points (44g-32a) and Alaska’s Nick Mazzolini with 72 points (25g-47a).


Marino, who also led the league with 58 assists, was named to the All-ECHL First Team last week. The 27-year-old was tied for third in the league with 21 power-play assists while his six game-winning goals were tied for fourth. A native of Riverside, Calif., Marino has tallied 162 points (50g-112a) in 143 career games with the Komets.

ECHL Leading Scorer Award Winners


2014Brandon MarinoFort Wayne Komets88 points
2013Mathieu RoyFlorida Everblades89 points
2012Dustin GazleyElmira Jackals85 points
2011Justin DonatiElmira Jackals94 points
2010Tyler DonatiElmira Jackals114 points
2009Kevin BakerFlorida Everblades102 points
2008David DesharnaisCincinnati Cyclones106 points
2007Brad SchellGwinnett Gladiators110 points
2006Alex LeavittAlaska Aces91 points
2005Scott GomezAlaska Aces86 points
2004Tim SmithColumbia Inferno95 points
2003Buddy SmithArkansas RiverBlades104 points
2002Louis DumontPensacola IcePilots102 points
2001Scott KingCharlotte Checkers101 points
2000John SpoltoreLouisiana IceGators119 points
1999John SpoltoreLouisiana IceGators109 points
1998Jamey HicksBirmingham Bulls119 points
1997Ed CourtenaySouth Carolina Stingrays110 points
1996Hugo P. BelangerNashville Knights144 points
1995Scott BurfootErie Panthers97 points
1994Phil BergerGreensboro Monarchs139 points
1993Trevor JobeNashville Knights161 points
1992Phil BergerGreensboro Monarchs130 points
1991Stan DruliaKnoxville Cherokees140 points
1990Bill McDougallErie Panthers148 points
1989Daryl HarpeErie Panthers122 points