Fort Wayne’s Szydlowski wins ECHL scoring title

The ECHL on Monday announced that Shawn Szydlowski of the Fort Wayne Komets has won the league scoring championship with 79 points (31g-48a).


Cincinnati’s Jesse Schultz was second with 75 points (18g-57a) followed by Matt Willows of Reading with 74 points (32g-42a), Manchester’s Jordan LaVallee-Smotherman with 72 points (34g-38a) and Garrett Thompson of Fort Wayne with 71 points (29g-42a).


Szydlowski, who was named to All-ECHL First Team for the second time in his career last week, was tied for second in plus-minus at +38, tied for fourth with 48 assists, tied for 10th with 31 goals and tied for fourth with six game-winning goals.


The 27-year-old has tallied 323 points (131g-192a) in 302 career ECHL regular-season games with Fort Wayne and Gwinnett while adding 45 points (20g-25a) in 45 career postseason contests.


ECHL Leading Scorer Award Winners

2017-18      Shawn Szydlowski, Fort Wayne Komets, 79 points
2016-17      Chad Costello, Allen Americans, 122 points
2015-16      Chad Costello, Allen Americans, 103 points
2014-15      Chad Costello, Allen Americans, 125 points
2013-14      Brandon Marino, Fort Wayne Komets, 88 points
2012-13      Mathieu Roy, Florida Everblades, 89 points
2011-12      Dustin Gazley, Elmira Jackals, 85 points
2010-11      Justin Donati, Elmira Jackals, 94 points
2009-10      Tyler Donati, Elmira Jackals, 114 points
2008-09      Kevin Baker, Florida Everblades, 102 points
2007-08      David Desharnais, Cincinnati Cyclones, 106 points
2006-07      Brad Schell, Gwinnett Gladiators, 110 points
2005-06      Alex Leavitt, Alaska Aces, 91 points
2004-05      Scott Gomez, Alaska Aces, 86 points
2003-04      Tim Smith, Columbia Inferno, 95 points
2002-03      Buddy Smith, Arkansas RiverBlades, 104 points
2001-02      Louis Dumont, Pensacola Ice Pilots, 102 points
2000-01      Scott King, Charlotte Checkers, 101 points
1999-00      John Spoltore, Louisiana Ice Gators, 119 points
1998-99      John Spoltore, Louisiana Ice Gators, 109 points
1997-98      Jamey Hicks, Birmingham Bulls, 119 points
1996-97      Ed Courtenay, South Carolina Stingrays, 110 points
1995-96      Hugo Belanger, Nashville Knights, 144 points
1994-95      Scott Burfoot, Erie Panthers, 97 points
1993-94      Phil Berger, Greensboro Monarchs, 139 points
1992-93      Trevor Jobe, Nashville Knights, 161 points
1991-92      Phil Berger, Greensboro Monarchs, 130 points
1990-91      Stan Drulia, Knoxville Cherokees, 140 points
1989-90      Bill McDougall, Erie Panthers, 148 points
1988-89      Daryl Harpe, Erie Panthers, 122 points