Gladiators honor 10th Anniversary Team

DULUTH, Ga. – The
Gwinnett Gladiators unveiled their 10th Anniversary Team during a first intermission ceremony of a thrilling 6-5 win over the Evansville IceMen on Saturday, Feb. 9. The anniversary team was comprised of six starters and 14 reserve players as voted on by fans and via an online vote and recommendations solicited from a blue-ribbon panel of executive team management and media representatives.

The six players selected as the starters include forwards Andy Brandt, Cam Brown and Jeff Campbell, defensemen Troy Milam and Jim Jackson, and goaltender Sean Fields.

Brandt ranks as the all-time games played leader in Gladiators history. He has skated with the team in six different seasons, and is the current team captain.

A former team captain, Brown played three seasons with the Gladiators and scored the first goal in team history. He was named to the ECHL Hall of Fame in 2010 and is the ECHL’s all time games played and penalty minutes leader.

Campbell played with Gwinnett from 2004 through 2008. He was named the ECHL MVP in 2006 and twice led the Gladiators in scoring.

Jackson skated three seasons with the Gladiators and leads all Gwinnett defensemen in career scoring with 116 points. He also represented the Gladiators in the 2005 ECHL All Star Game.

Milam played two seasons with Gwinnett and was named to the 2004 ECHL All Star game in his rookie season. He led Gladiators defensemen in scoring during the Gladiators 2006 Kelly Cup Playoff run and American Conference Championship title.

Fields has played the most games as a goaltender for the Gladiators history and his 32 wins during the ‘05-‘06 season are still the most by a Gladiators goaltender in one season.

Fourteen players were selected as reserves for the Gladiators 10th Anniversary team. The forwards include Guillaume Desbiens, Chris Durno, Scott Mifsud, Kevin Doell, Tyler Murovich, Derek Nesbitt, Mike Vigilante and Brad Schell. The reserve defensemen named to the squad include Jon Awe, Cody Brookwell, Paul Flache, Rick Emmett and Dallas Jackson. Adam Berkhoel was named the reserve goaltender for the Gladiators 10th Anniversary Team.