Gulls Win 500th Game

SAN DIEGO – Mark Pederson and Guillaume Fournier each had a goal and an assist and NHL veteran Curtis Brown scored his first goal with San Diego, leading the Gulls to the 500th win in team history, a 5-2 victory over Alaska on Thursday at the San Diego Sports Arena.

The Gulls are 500-174-45 in the regular season and postseason from 1995-96 to present. In eight seasons in the West Coast Hockey League, which stopped play after the 2002-03 season, San Diego was 442-152-33 and won five Taylor Cup Championships while finishing atop the regular season standings seven times.

In its first season in the ECHL in 2003-04, San Diego finished atop the ECHL with 108 points (49-13-10) and won the Brabham Cup, awarded annually to the team that finishes with the most regular season points. The Gulls’ 108 points ties Florida (53-15-2) for the second-highest point total in ECHL history while Wheeling’s 106 points ties Pee Dee (51-15-4) for the fourth-highest point total in league history. The all-time record for points is 116 by Louisiana in 2001-02 (56-12-4). The 49 wins sets the ECHL record for wins by a first-year team and the Gulls become only the second first-year team in history to win the Brabham Cup. Toledo won the points title in its first season with a then record for a first-year team 46 wins in 1991-92. Erie won the points title in the first season of the ECHL in 1988-89.

San Diego’s winning percentage of .750 in 2003-04 tied Richmond (46-11-13 in 1995-96) for the fifth best regular season winning percentage. The Gulls’ 30 home wins tied the ECHL record held by Louisiana (2001-02) and San Diego’s 49 overall wins ranks sixth all-time. San Diego’s 13 losses tie Knoxville (1990-91) for the third fewest losses in a season while its eight losses on the road tie Florida (1999-2000) and Pee Dee (1999-2000) for the third fewest road losses in a season.