Gwinnett’s Goodjohn Wins
ECHL Sportsmanship Award

PRINCETON, N.J. – The ECHL on Saturday announced that Gwinnett forward Kris Goodjohn is the recipient of the Sportsmanship Award for 2004-05 as voted by league coaches.

The award is presented annually to the player who is judged to have exhibited the best sportsmanship combined with a high standard of playing ability.

Scott Gomez of Alaska finished second while Carl Mallette of Toledo and Dusty Jamieson of Charlotte tied for third.

In his second professional season, the 26-year-old Goodjohn is sixth in the ECHL with 48 assists and tied for sixth with 69 points in 68 games. He had a league season-high eight-game assist streak (12a) from November 17 to December 7 and has 17 multiple-point games and eight multiple-assist games. He has 20 penalty minutes and leads Gwinnett in assists and scoring while ranking third on the team in goals with 21. As a rookie in 2003-04, Goodjohn scored 56 points (19g-37a) in 71 regular season games and tied for the team lead with 12 points (5g-7a) in 13 Kelly Cup Playoff Games.

The recipient of the CCM Vector Rookie of the Year will be announced on Monday.

ECHL Sportsmanship Award Winners

2004-05 Kris Goodjohn, Gwinnett Gladiators
2003-04 Mark Pederson, San Diego Gulls
2002-03 Rejean Stringer, Columbia Inferno
2001-02 Ben Stafford, Trenton Titans
2000-01 Jamie Ling, Dayton Bombers
1999-00 Jamie Ling, Dayton Bombers
1998-99 Jamie Ling, Dayton Bombers
1997-98 Cal Ingraham, Tallahassee Tiger Sharks
1996-97 Mike Ross, South Carolina Stingrays