Gwinnett’s Kowalski, Johnstown’s Nie
Look For 30 Wins

In each of the last 14 ECHL seasons there has been a goaltender who has won 30 games and 43 times in league history there has been a 30-game winner.

Craig Kowalski (pictured) of Gwinnett leads the ECHL with 29 wins and Ryan Nie of Johnstown is second with 28 wins.

Gwinnett hosts Charlotte on Tuesday and Saturday and visits Columbia on Friday while Johnstown plays at Reading on Wednesday and at Dayton on Saturday while hosting Wheeling on Friday.

Nie, who leads the league with 48 games and 2,764 minutes, has broken the Chiefs record of 25 wins set by Stan “Smokey” Reddick in 1991-92 and tied by Frederic Deschenes in 2001-02.

Kowalski, who is third in the league with a goals-against average of 2.29 and a save percentage of .923, needs three wins to tie the Gladiators record held by Sean Fields, who won 32 games in 2005-06.