Hershey names Troy Mann head coach

BAKERSFIELD, Calif. – The Bakersfield Condors, ECHL affiliate of the Edmonton Oilers, announced that Head Coach Troy Mann is leaving the team to accept the head coaching position in the American Hockey League with the Hershey Bears. Hershey is the AHL affiliate of the National Hockey League’s Washington Capitals.

Mann, 44, earns the promotion after a memorable lone season at the helm of the Condors, posting a 36-30-6 record and taking the team into the Western Conference Finals for the first time in team history. The Condors went 35-20-5 after Thanksgiving to overcome a poor start and post one of the best records in the league for the rest of the season.

The New Brunswick native returns to the AHL, this time as the head coach of the team with which he spent four campaigns, from 2009-13. Mann was an assistant coach with the Bears during that time, winning a Calder Cup in 2010 and helping the club post 180 victories in four seasons.

The 2013-14 Condors season was the first as a head coach for Mann since 2007-08, when he coached the Columbia Inferno. In each of his last two seasons as a head coach, he has guided his ECHL clubs into the third round of the playoffs. He was the first Condors head coach to have played for the team, having spent part of the 2000-01 season with the team.

Eleven of the 30 head coaches in the American Hockey League have an ECHL background with Albany’s Rick Kowalsky, Bridgeport’s Brent Thompson, Hershey’s Troy Mann, Iowa’s Kurt Kleinendorst, Portland’s Ray Edwards, Providence’s Bruce Cassidy, Rockford’s Ted Dent, Springfield’s Jared Bednar, St. John’s Keith McCambridge, Toronto’s Steve Spott and Worcester’s Roy Sommer.

Former ECHL broadcasters working in the American Hockey League include Grady Whittenburg of the Binghamton Senators, Jason Shaya of the Charlotte Checkers, Jason Shaver of the Chicago Wolves, Joe O’Donnell of the Iowa Wild, Doug Plagens of the Lake Erie Monsters, Pete Michaud of the Norfolk Admirals, Dan Weiss of the San Antonio Rampage, Mike Kelly of the Springfield Falcons, Dan D’Uva of the Syracuse Crunch, Brendan Burke of the Utica Comets and Eric Lindquist of the Worcester Sharks.