Hoenike named ECHL Broadcaster of the Year

The ECHL announced on Monday that Will Hoenike of the Idaho Steelheads is the 2014-15 recipient of the ECHL Broadcaster of the Year award as determined in voting by league media relations directors and broadcasters.

The other finalists were Nick Brunker of the Cincinnati Cyclones, Bob Mills of the Orlando Solar Bears, Matt Melzak of the Toledo Walleye and Rob Loeber of the Tulsa Oilers.

Hoenike was named the Steelheads Director of Media Relations in May 2009 after serving as the club’s Season Tickets Director for the prior two-and-half years. In January 2011, he added the responsibilities as the Voice of the Steelheads and was honored as the ECHL Media Relations Director of the Year following the 2010-11 season. Prior to joining the Steelheads, Hoenike was the weekend sports anchor and reporter at Today’s Channel 6 (KIVI-TV). A native of Spokane, Wash., Hoenike is a graduate of the Edward R. Murrow College of Communication at Washington State University.

ECHL Broadcaster Award Winners

2015Will Hoenike
Idaho Steelheads
2014Bob Chase
Fort Wayne Komets
2013Joseph Zakrzewski
South Carolina Stingrays
2012Bob Mills
Chicago Express
2011Josh BogoradAlaska Aces
2010Doug PlagensIdaho Steelheads
2009Josh HellerSouth Carolina Stingrays
2008Joe BabikFresno Falcons
 Brendan BurkeWheeling Nailers
2007Kevin ReiterFlorida Everblades
 Joe O’DonnellIdaho Steelheads
2006Dan WeissPhoenix RoadRunners
2005John MichaelJohnstown Chiefs
2004Jack MichaelsAlaska Aces
2003Darren AbbottSouth Carolina Stingrays
2002Joe ZydloTrenton Titans