Idaho’s McCormack named ECHL Broadcaster of the Year

The ECHL announced that Brian McCormack of the Idaho Steelheads is the 2017-18 recipient of the ECHL Broadcaster of the Year award as determined in voting by league media relations directors and broadcasters.


The other finalists were Ken Cail of the Manchester Monarchs, Everett Fitzhugh of the Cincinnati Cyclones, Matt Melzak of the Toledo Walleye, John Peterson of the Tulsa Oilers and Brian Tosti of the Greenville Swamp Rabbits.


McCormack, who served as the television broadcaster for the 2018 CCM/ECHL All-Star Classic on NHL Network, recently completed his third season with the Steelheads, calling all games for KTIK Radio, with home game televised on Cable One. McCormack also coordinates the Steelheads’ media obligations, provides all written content for the team’s website and hosts the Bud Light Idaho Steelheads Hockey Show three days a week on 1350 KTIK. He spent the 2014-15 season as a Digital Media Intern with the NHL’s Columbus Blue Jackets, providing editorial content for the Blue Jackets’ web site. McCormack majored in Communication and Political Science at SUNY-Geneseo, where he also was the radio broadcaster for Geneseo’s Division III hockey team for three seasons and the Sports Director at WGSU Radio for two years.


ECHL Broadcaster Award Winners

2017-18           Brian McCormack, Idaho Steelheads

2016-17           Cameron Close, Adirondack Thunder

2015-16           Tommy Daniels, Allen Americans

2014-15           Will Hoenike, Idaho Steelheads

2013-14           Bob Chase, Fort Wayne Komets

2012-13           Joseph Zakrzewski, South Carolina Stingrays

2011-12           Bob Mills, Chicago Express

2010-11           Josh Bogorad, Alaska Aces

2009-10           Doug Plagens, Idaho Steelheads

2008-09           Josh Heller, South Carolina Stingrays

2007-08           Joe Babik, Fresno Falcons and Brendan Burke, Wheeling Nailers

2006-07           Kevin Reiter, Florida Everblades and Joe O’Donnell, Idaho Steelheads

2005-06           Dan Weiss, Phoenix RoadRunners

2004-05           John Michael, Johnstown Chiefs

2003-04           Jack Michaels, Alaska Aces

2002-03           Darren Abbott, South Carolina Stingrays

2001-02           Joe Zydlo, Trenton Titans