Jakaitis named Warrior Hockey ECHL Goaltender of the Year


The ECHL on Thursday announced that Jeff Jakaitis of the South Carolina Stingrays is the recipient of the Warrior Hockey ECHL Goaltender of the Year award for 2013-14.


The Warrior Hockey Goaltender of the Year award is presented annually to the goaltender selected to be the best at his position as determined in a vote of ECHL coaches, broadcasters, media relations directors and media members.


Jakaitis also won the award in 2011-12 while with Gwinnett and joins Scott Stirling (2000-01 and 2003-04) as the only two-time winners in the award’s history.


Laurent Brossoit of Bakersfield finished second, followed by Ontario’s Michael Hutchinson, Igor Bobkov of Utah and Kalamazoo’s Jordan Binnington.


The winner of the CCM Most Valuable Player award will be announced on Friday.


Jakaitis, who was named to the All-ECHL First Team last week, was third in the league with 24 wins and a .924 save percentage, fifth with a 2.16 goals-against average and tied for sixth with three shutouts. He was named ECHL Goaltender of the Month for both October and December, giving him an ECHL-record four monthly awards in his career. Jakaitis allowed two goals or less in 28 of his 40 appearances this season.

Warrior Hockey ECHL Goaltender of the Year Award Winners 

2014Jeff JakaitisSouth Carolina Stingrays
2013Ryan ZapolskiSouth Carolina Stingrays
2012Jeff JakaitisGwinnett Gladiators
2011Gerald ColemanAlaska Aces
2010Todd FordSouth Carolina Stingrays
2009J.P. LamoureuxAlaska Aces
2008Anton KhudobinTexas Wildcatters
2007Adam BerkhoelDayton Bombers
2006Matt UnderhillAlaska Aces
2005Chris MaddenLong Beach Ice Dogs/Florida Everblades
2004Scott StirlingAtlantic City Boardwalk Bullies
2003Alfie MichaudPeoria Rivermen
2002Frederic CloutierLouisiana IceGators
2001Scott StirlingTrenton Titans
2000Jan LasakHampton Roads Admirals
1999Maxime GingrasRichmond Renegades
1998Nick VitucciToledo Storm
1997Marc DelormeLouisiana IceGators
1996Alain MorissetteLouisville RiverFrogs
1995Chris GordonHuntington Blizzard
1994Cory CaddenKnoxville Cherokees