Kalamazoo’s Roberts receives ECHL Award of Excellence for Media Relations

The ECHL announced that Joe Roberts of the Kalamazoo Wings is the 2017-18 recipient of the Award of Excellence for Media Relations as determined in voting by members of the media, league media relations directors and broadcasters.


The other finalists were DJ Abisalih of the Wheeling Nailers, Zach Dooley of the Adirondack Thunder, Brent Hollerud of the Indy Fuel, Jason Mals of the Wichita Thunder and Brandon Weiss of the Kansas City Mavericks.


The 2017-18 season was Roberts’ third season as the Wings director of public relations and broadcasting. In addition to handing all of the team’s broadcasts, he also oversees all of the team’s day-to-day social media efforts.


ECHL Award of Excellence for Media Relations Winners

2017-18           Joe Roberts, Kalamazoo Wings

2016-17           Everett Fitzhugh, Cincinnati Cyclones

2015-16           DJ Abisalih, Wheeling Nailers

2014-15           Chuck Bailey, Fort Wayne Komets

2013-14           Nick Brunker, Cincinnati Cyclones

2012-13           Kevin Bartl and Ryan Holt, Bakersfield Condors

2011-12           J.P. Puma, Colorado Eagles

2010-11           Will Hoenike, Idaho Steelheads

2009-10           Eric Levine, Elmira Jackals

2008-09           Mike Benton, Stockton Thunder

2007-08           John Hamel, Cincinnati Cyclones and Jeff Harris and Mike Walker, Victoria Salmon Kings

2006-07           Dustin Bixby, Gwinnett Gladiators and Josh Fisher, Las Vegas Wranglers

2005-06           Jeremy Zager, San Diego Gulls

2004-05           Jeremy Zager, San Diego Gulls

2003-04           Mike Kelly, Mississippi Sea Wolves

2002-03           Ryan Stanzel, Louisiana IceGators

2001-02           Bill McLaughlin, Greenville Grrrowl

2000-01           Darren Abbott, South Carolina Stingrays

1999-00           Darren Abbott, South Carolina Stingrays

1998-99           Mark Simpson, Charlotte Checkers

1997-98           Andy Davis, Richmond Renegades

1996-97           Peter Kostos, Louisiana IceGators