Komets add four to roster

FORT WAYNE, Ind. – The Fort Wayne Komets announced Wednesday that four players have been added to the preseason roster. Returning champions from last season include Chris Auger, Brent Henley and J.M. Rizk. Rookie forward Matt Firman also agreed to terms.

Auger, 24, was named Komet Rookie of the Year last season after leading the Komets with 28 goals and adding 31 assists for 59 points in 57 games. Auger scored team highs of 10 goals and +12 in 18 playoff games en route to the 2012 CHL Presidents’ Cup Championship. The Belleville, Ontario center was selected by the Chicago Blackhawks in the sixth round of the 2006 NHL Entry Draft before experiencing four seasons with the University of Massachusetts, Lowell, from 2006-10. Auger made his pro debut skating 42 games with Mississippi (CHL) 2010-11 scoring 14 goals and 25 points.     

Henley, 31, will be entering his 11th pro year and fourth with Fort Wayne. The veteran defenseman won his second league championship last season with the Komets. Henley scored three goals and 14 points in 60 regular season games before appearing in 15 playoff games posting a goal and three points. Henley also won the 2008 IHL Turner Cup championship as a member of the Komets. During his career, Henley has skated 109 AHL career games in stints with Lowell, Rochester, Toronto, Edmonton, Springfield, Norfolk and Hartford. Henley is no stranger to the ECHL having appeared in parts of eight seasons over the course of his career skating stints with Jackson, South Carolina, Greenville, Phoenix, Utah, Pensacola, Augusta and Mississippi. Henley led the Komets last season with +29 and 201 penalty minutes and dished a career best 11 assists and 14 points. The Coquitlam, British Columbia native also collected the Community Service and Unsung Hero awards for 2011-12 and was named co-winner of the Komet Defenseman of the Year Award with teammate Frankie DeAngelis.

Rizk, 26, scored 20 goals and 31 points last season with Fort Wayne before netting seven goals and 14 points in 18 playoff games while capturing the CHL title in his rookie season. The Dunham, Ontario native was selected by the Minnesota Wild in the seventh round of the 2004 NHL Entry Draft during a five-year stint in the OHL from 2002-07. Rizk skated four seasons with Wilfrid Laurier University (CIS) 2007-2011 before finishing 2010-11 appearing in seven ECHL games with Wheeling. 

Firman, 23, will be making his rookie debut with Fort Wayne. The Fayetteville, N.Y. forward finished his fourth season with Colgate University last year scoring college career highs of seven goals, eight assists and 15 points in 39 ECAC games. Firman was named Colgate’s Most Improved Player for 2011-12 and received the Steve Riggs Memorial Award given to the player most known for gentlemanly play and high standard of ability.